Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
Good, easy recipe to make. I made it without marinating and the flavor was still very good. The broth was a bit thin. Overall, good one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This recipe starts out so simple yet winds up tasting sooooo great! Nice going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Broth was thin, and a little too tomato-y. The meat turned out ok, but potatoes were still not cooked all the way after 9 hours and I did soak them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This is so, so good! I added celery, too. It's great to come home after a long day to this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I following this recipe exactly as written, but it came out with way too much tomato taste to it. I will not make this again. I wanted a beef stew recipe that actually tastes like beef, not all tomato. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
A great stew. Not bland but not over kill with flavor either. Really simple to make especially since you prepare the items the day before. Extremely filling. Also is great served with a large crusty garlic bread/Crouton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WWWEBGURLIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I increased this recipe to 10 servings.Because the broth is thin I boiled 4 c tomato juice,added 1 c milk and 3 tbsp cornstarch,boiled again and then added to the stew. In the last hour of cooking I also added 2 c. of cooked barley.Once adjusted the recipe was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
simple but delicious. didn't make any alterations to the recipe, i found it worked as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
An old-fashioned standard made super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
My first slow-cooker recipe ever! This was really easy to make, and tasted pretty traditional. I was worried it'd be too tomato-flavored, but was surprised to find that when cooked, the stew was in not a tomato sauce, or even a gravy, but more like a watery broth (tasty though). I threw the jalapenos in, which made it even tastier. I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States