Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
We found that this was a real good recipe, however, I did tweak it a little bit. After it cooked for 4 hrs, I saw the broth was thin, so I removed some of the juice. After tasting it, I found it quite bland. I chose to use chinese 5 spice, celery salt and black pepper for the seasonings, and it was spectacular. I also added fresh mushrooms. Next time, I might add more mushrooms, forget the stewed tomatoes, and use Tomato soup instead of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Overall, this beef stew was very delicious. The first time I made it the potatoes weren't quite soft enough, but I think it was because it smelled so good and I got impatient and began eating ;-) This stew also tastes very good with a white or vidalia onion substituted for the yellow onion. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This stew will warm you right up. The beef was tender made a hearty meal, but it tasted a little bland. In the future I will add more salt and doctor it up with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Family didn't really care for this one. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This was AMAZING! I forgot to pick up V8 at the store, but I had a can of beef stock and used that. This was my first time making beef stew and everyone said it was fab! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I submitted this and my recipe doesn't call for tomato juice. It's for V-8, which is a vegetable juice. I can imagine it would be tomato-ey with tomato juice and stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
My husband made this and instead of letting the vegetables soak separately overnight, he mixed everything together the night before. It turned out fine, except that the potatoes were only about half cooked at the end of the day. We did use the peppers, and the flavor of the stew was excellent - we didn't think it had too much tomato flavor at ALL. In fact, when we make it again, we plan to use much less potato and twice as many stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
My first slow-cooker recipe ever! This was really easy to make, and tasted pretty traditional. I was worried it'd be too tomato-flavored, but was surprised to find that when cooked, the stew was in not a tomato sauce, or even a gravy, but more like a watery broth (tasty though). I threw the jalapenos in, which made it even tastier. I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
An old-fashioned standard made super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
simple but delicious. didn't make any alterations to the recipe, i found it worked as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States