Slow Cooker Beef Stew by Spice Islands® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! My husband says "A+++". I didn't have frozen veggies so used 3 potatoes, 2 celery stalks, 2 carrots, 1/2 onion, fire roasted diced tomatoes, and Shiraz for the wine. I didn't have rosemary (not a big fan of it anyway) so I used 1/2 tsp combo of sage and tarragon then sprinkled a little (less than 1/2 tsp) of Italian seasoning just because. I followed the rest of the directions and boy did my house smell good! It barely had any liquid when it was done so I added a can of beef broth- then it looked like the picture. It was great with the french bread I made (thank you bread maker). Next time I will probably add a can of water using the diced tomato can in addition to the can of beef broth for more of a "soup"-more good stuff to dip the bread into. This had a really good strong flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
That was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious! Even with caribou! And its not easy to make caribou tasty...lemme tell ya. I threw in whatever veggies I had around, didnt have a bay leaf and only had tomato sauce not diced tomatos...but close enough, eh. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Our favorite slow cooker recipe! I used red wine instead of water and also added some beef boullion. You can also substitute tomato sauce for the diced tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The stew was very good and easy to make. I used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. The wine was a nice flavorful touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I didn't add the wine, and I did add a dash of Italian spices, and this is a perfect recipe. I added an additional can of beef breath and made a thickening to make it less watery. Even if I had done this exactly as the recipe said, it would have been fantastic. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a super easy recipe. Considering how easy it was and the results, I don't consider the meat wasted, but I definitely won't be cooking again. WAY too salty! I didn't use frozen vegs. I used fresh carrots and potatoes. I even put extra potatoes and carrots, and it was still way too salty. EEK! Needs too much tweaking for me to consider this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
5+ stars! Every one loved this. I used 2 lbs of stew meat, 3 tablespoons ketchup (could use more) instead of canned tomatoes (kids won't eat them) & a can of beef broth since I didn't have the wine. I didn't add any sugar or rosemary. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Taste-wise, it is quite good. However, I think there is not enough liquid in the recipe. I needed to add about a cup or more of liquid to make it not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this using fresh vegetables, carrot, onion, celery and potatoes, just eyeballing the amounts, instead of the frozen veggies. I also used frozen rosemary from last summer’s herb garden - so much better than dried! I cooked this on low, and in my slow cooker it was done in 7 hours. Check it earlier than the recipe indicates, as all slow cookers are different. Hubs and I both enjoyed this, and since it’s so easy to make, I just may be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States