Slow Cooker Beef Stew by Spice Islands® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
That was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The stew was very good and easy to make. I used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. The wine was a nice flavorful touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! My husband says "A+++". I didn't have frozen veggies so used 3 potatoes, 2 celery stalks, 2 carrots, 1/2 onion, fire roasted diced tomatoes, and Shiraz for the wine. I didn't have rosemary (not a big fan of it anyway) so I used 1/2 tsp combo of sage and tarragon then sprinkled a little (less than 1/2 tsp) of Italian seasoning just because. I followed the rest of the directions and boy did my house smell good! It barely had any liquid when it was done so I added a can of beef broth- then it looked like the picture. It was great with the french bread I made (thank you bread maker). Next time I will probably add a can of water using the diced tomato can in addition to the can of beef broth for more of a "soup"-more good stuff to dip the bread into. This had a really good strong flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thriftymama85
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Delicious... even better when I reheated it the second day. I didn't use wine-- I used water. I didn't have any rosemary on hand so I didn't bother with that either. I did slow cook it with three bay leaves instead of one, and took 2 of them out midway through cooking. I also couldn't locate a bag of frozen stew vegetables, so I chopped up 4 peeled small russet potatoes, 4 medium stalks of celery, 3 medium-large peeled carrots, and 3/4 of a large yellow onion diced. I slow-cooked on high for 5 hours and low for about 2. Perfect for eating with a nice cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious! Even with caribou! And its not easy to make caribou tasty...lemme tell ya. I threw in whatever veggies I had around, didnt have a bay leaf and only had tomato sauce not diced tomatos...but close enough, eh. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
BEST beef stew i've ever made! and i've made many beef stews! kids loved it. so easy (did not require browning meat) will make again! great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was good, but not as flavorful as I would have hoped, based on the other reviews. I used fresh veggies instead of frozen, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I make tis about every other week since discovering it back in November. It's so yummy and is great for lunch the next day. The only thing I change is adding more garlic powder and wine. I also followed one of the reviewers and add beef broth towards the end to increase the serving size/make it a bit more soupy. Not sure if this is a common sense thing but it's much much better if you have the time to cook it for 8 hours though delicious no matter what time you go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Our favorite slow cooker recipe! I used red wine instead of water and also added some beef boullion. You can also substitute tomato sauce for the diced tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this using fresh vegetables, carrot, onion, celery and potatoes, just eyeballing the amounts, instead of the frozen veggies. I also used frozen rosemary from last summer’s herb garden - so much better than dried! I cooked this on low, and in my slow cooker it was done in 7 hours. Check it earlier than the recipe indicates, as all slow cookers are different. Hubs and I both enjoyed this, and since it’s so easy to make, I just may be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States