Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love beef stew in the slow cooker in the fall and all through winter. I prefer celery and a lot of garlic. This recipe is very versatile based on what you have on hand. This time I had an orange banana pepper and it turned out great! Searing the meat is really key to tender pieces in the end, I have made it both ways and that extra step makes a world of difference. This is the season for this recipe and I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
A lot like Kim's Beef pot roast recipe with the wine and soup mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was tasty. I omitted the onion soup mix only because I didn't have any on hand, but will make it again and add the soup because I think it would enhance the overall flavour. I also added beef broth in place of the water. Used almost an entire bottle of merlot (!) as I really wanted the flavour of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was very good. I did not brown the meat 1st & I didn't add the red wine because I didn't have any. I added garlic powder & a little extra water & it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is just like the recipe my mom used to make. Took me years to find just the right one to fill the void I was missing. Can't say enough about it. Great for those cool fall nights or anytime really. thanks for posting this recipe! Simple to prepare and with a little patience it will be worth it. I did alter it just a little by browning the meat in a rosemary/garlic in olive oil mix. I just scraped what was left over in crock pot but I did add the Merlot wine to the pot directly..helps the meat tenderize and give the gravy a subtle flare. And I added about 1/4 cup of brown gravy mix at the end..no onion soup mix. It is greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Good broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was good. A bit of prep work but worth it for the delicious, tender meat. Though I'd say don't forget garlic, that's a serious omission! Otherwise something was missing... Bay leaves or maybe more wine. Will make again, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This beef stew recipe is a keeper! With a rich, peppery flavor, we were all begging for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Conners

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious!!! Simple yet the best stew recipe yet...might be the extra red wine I added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe except I used 3 potatoes instead of 4, omitted the parsley, added bay leaf and 1/2 can of chicken broth. Cooked in on high for 3 hours and low for 2, turned out fabulous. The meat and potatoes and were tasty and tender without falling apart too much. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States