Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this many times and it is by far the best Beef Stew Recipe I have come across..I believe it is the wine that makes it special. Even though I have played around with measurements, I have never strayed from the original ingredients. Also, do not try to shortcut or skip steps....each step is an important contribution to the success of this recipe. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this stew several times now, tweaking it a little as I've learned what to expect. As written, the recipe is very good, and the gravy has a nice not-too-thick, not-too-thin consistency. The aroma it creates while simmering is fabulous! However, my family found the flavor a bit bland. I've taken the advice of some of the other reviewers, adding beef bullion to the water/onion soup mixture and adding garlic and thyme. I've also added a little salt and more wine (whatever dry red wine I've had on hand). The most recent time I made this stew I added a can of petite diced tomatoes and four fresh zuchinni squash, cubed, toward the end of the cooking process - maybe an hour before taking it up, which gave the dish a boost in flavor and texture. I'll continue to make small alterations, but I will definately use this recipe as a starting point for stew from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I didn't have onion soup so I used cream of mushroom. It turned out excellent! I added about a cup of Malbec wine to deglaze the pan. I also added a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and a couple shakes of ground thyme. Towards the end of the cooking I stirred in a mix of cornstarch and water to thicken it all up. This is a definite keeper and will be my go to recipe for beef stew! I am giving 5 stars even though I made a few changes but I think the recipe would be excellent as written too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Never made beef stew before and it tasted almost as good as grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Great stew! A lot more complicated than I was used to, but worth the prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Followed the directions and meat was tough and it had no flavor. Sorry... maybe I'll try again but I think I'll stick with my mother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I use this recipe EVERY TIME!!! The only thing I do differently is I don't use 3 onions and I don't thicken it at the end because the broth is delicious to sop up with bread!!! I refuse to use any other recipe for beef stew! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this for me and the boyfriend, I made my own French onion dry mix with my spices, then continued with the list when it was done it was super salty almost to the point were I could not eat it so next time I will lay off the salt but all in all it was good I added a bay leaf and some garlic cloves and it spiced it but , maybe I put to much beef bouillon in the dry mix !! very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Not very flavorful. Family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States