Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Reminded me of the stew my dad made when I was younger - thick and delicious. I left out the red wine, used broth for the water and added a bunch of garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Instead of using red wine - I used 1/4 cup of whiskey. I also added garlic (because I love it way too much). I browned the meat, but didn't overcook it as I figured it would get cooked thoroughly from the heat. I also didn't use the slow cooker as it was too small. Just followed the instructions. Let it "boil" for 30 minutes and let it on low the rest of the day. I really enjoyed this stew and will be making it again. It was also the first time I have ever made stew and was really happy with how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was ok. I cooked on high for an hour and a 1/2 and then on low for 3 hours. I added more red wine than what was called for and some worcheshire sauce. To me it just tasted like stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Substituted some of the water for more red wine ;) It was amazing! Have made it twice and tastes perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
LOVE this meal… A definite "Go To" in our house. The best recipe I've ever found on this site. As we are only a family of 2, the portion size lasts us through the majority of the week and it tastes great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Ritteman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this many times and it is by far the best Beef Stew Recipe I have come across..I believe it is the wine that makes it special. Even though I have played around with measurements, I have never strayed from the original ingredients. Also, do not try to shortcut or skip steps....each step is an important contribution to the success of this recipe. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this stew several times now, tweaking it a little as I've learned what to expect. As written, the recipe is very good, and the gravy has a nice not-too-thick, not-too-thin consistency. The aroma it creates while simmering is fabulous! However, my family found the flavor a bit bland. I've taken the advice of some of the other reviewers, adding beef bullion to the water/onion soup mixture and adding garlic and thyme. I've also added a little salt and more wine (whatever dry red wine I've had on hand). The most recent time I made this stew I added a can of petite diced tomatoes and four fresh zuchinni squash, cubed, toward the end of the cooking process - maybe an hour before taking it up, which gave the dish a boost in flavor and texture. I'll continue to make small alterations, but I will definately use this recipe as a starting point for stew from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I didn't have onion soup so I used cream of mushroom. It turned out excellent! I added about a cup of Malbec wine to deglaze the pan. I also added a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic and a couple shakes of ground thyme. Towards the end of the cooking I stirred in a mix of cornstarch and water to thicken it all up. This is a definite keeper and will be my go to recipe for beef stew! I am giving 5 stars even though I made a few changes but I think the recipe would be excellent as written too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Never made beef stew before and it tasted almost as good as grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Great stew! A lot more complicated than I was used to, but worth the prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States