Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe!!! Based on 4 servings, I added a bay leaf, 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp rosemary, 3 oz. tomato paste (half a 6 oz. can) and no butter. In place of the boullion, in a small bowl, I mixed 2/3 cup of water, 1tbsp plus 1tsp wine, 3 oz. tomato sauce and one Swanson's beef flavored Flavor Boost packet. I poured this mixture over the items in the crockpot. I added 1 cup of frozen organic peas at the end of cooking time. Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't really a fan? Maybe it's spiced heavy? I actually added more water and it was still kinda dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
OK starting point but needs more flavor. More spices are needed and more flavorful vegetables. Here's my recommendations: Change meat from 3 lbs to 2 lbs Change 3 large potatoes to 2 large white potatoes + 1 large sweet potato or yam Change the cup of baby carrots to 3-4 carrots cut into large pieces (baby carrots DO NOT have the same depth of flavor) Change the two cups boiling water to two cups beef broth Add 1 small can of baby peas at the end of the cooking time while the gravy is thickening Add the following seasonings: 2 Bay Leaves 2 TB Worcestershire Sauce 2 tsp Garlic Powder 1 tsp Paprika 2 tsp Salt It's definitely a keeper with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a very good stew recipe, great for a cold winter night. Followed the recipe exactly except I added peas at the end and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Also added a beef stew seasoning packet & drop biscuits to top in last 30 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the best stew I have ever made. I followed all of the directions with the exception of using less meat (I only had one pound), but I kept all of the other proportions the same (except I used one onion instead of three and decreased the butter to go with it) and it still turned out fantastic. I also used wine at the end to mix with the flour instead of water. VERY good! My husband was happy and noticed right away that it was a different, more delicious recipe than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
We really enjoyed the stew except the black pepper spoiled it. We found 1 teaspoon too much. Next time, I will adjust the black pepper to less than 1/2 teaspoon and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have wine to glaze the pan so I used part water and part packaged beef stew mix and it came out great! Also I didn't use the onion mix. I just added the glaze to the crock pot and the stew was hearty and delicious! The key is season your meat! My family loved it and wanted to know when I would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was worried that the stew would cook dry since not much liquid is added, but that wasn't the case at all. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I think it could stand a little more flavor (salt, garlic...something). However, it was delicious and a winner at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was amazing!! The ONLY thing we did different was instead of water, used beef broth, per others suggestion. Well worth the little extra prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States