Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Love this stew! However, I add corn to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made this recipe several times, and I think its a great recipe. I added mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grillman51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
LOVE this stew! Even better the next day. I don't use baby carrots but sliced whole carrots. I use peeled cubed russet potatoes not red bliss like in the video. Also don't see need for flour at the end. My Mom made the best beef stew in the world and this tastes just like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jann e
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this almost just as directed and it was a huge hit. I subbed beef bouillon and garlic salt and minced onion for the French onion soup mix (I'm not opposed, just didn't have it) and it turned out great. I confess usually I don't pre-brown the meat or pre-cook the onions (seems contrary to the slow cooker game!) but this really made the dish a lot better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
i made this last night for dinner while watching the superbowl with a handful of friends. everyone loved it! i'm going to try it again soon. yesterday i didn't have any red wine so ended up using a white. also i still had some stew left but not enough for two people, so i dumped a box of chicken stock, and 2 cups of brown rice. let it stew a few hours on low until the rice was cooked. tastes really good and extended the meal! next time, i'll add some worchestershire and either garlic powder or crushed garlic. i might blend some crushed red peppers to give it a bit of a kick as well. canned tomatoes, celery and mushrooms might be add-ons too. this recipe seems pretty versatile. definitely worth playing with it until we find the perfect combo for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
So good!!! The only minor changes I made were adding garlic powder to the meat dredge, adding more wine, and adding more veggies (why not beef it up with parsnips and celery?!?). Mine certainly did not make 12 servings because my husband kept filling his bowl to the top. I would say this made closer to 6-8 servings of a medium bowl. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
From now on this is my go to Beef Stew recipe!!! My fam loved it!! Of course, I made a small change. I substituted the red wine with white cooking wine and I also added a little left over chicken stock. None of that mattered, because the stew was still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious. My ninety year old Mom lives with me and I have a challenge daily getting her to eat. She ate an entire serving of this stew. The only thing I did differently was being a little heavy handed with the wine. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Have made this a few times and it always comes out great. Make a few modifications, per others' suggestions: use combo of beef stock, water and red wine, add celery etc. Thanks to OP and other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It's okay, but it's more like pot roast with lots of gravy than stew. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States