Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
i made this last night for dinner while watching the superbowl with a handful of friends. everyone loved it! i'm going to try it again soon. yesterday i didn't have any red wine so ended up using a white. also i still had some stew left but not enough for two people, so i dumped a box of chicken stock, and 2 cups of brown rice. let it stew a few hours on low until the rice was cooked. tastes really good and extended the meal! next time, i'll add some worchestershire and either garlic powder or crushed garlic. i might blend some crushed red peppers to give it a bit of a kick as well. canned tomatoes, celery and mushrooms might be add-ons too. this recipe seems pretty versatile. definitely worth playing with it until we find the perfect combo for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
So good!!! The only minor changes I made were adding garlic powder to the meat dredge, adding more wine, and adding more veggies (why not beef it up with parsnips and celery?!?). Mine certainly did not make 12 servings because my husband kept filling his bowl to the top. I would say this made closer to 6-8 servings of a medium bowl. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
From now on this is my go to Beef Stew recipe!!! My fam loved it!! Of course, I made a small change. I substituted the red wine with white cooking wine and I also added a little left over chicken stock. None of that mattered, because the stew was still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious. My ninety year old Mom lives with me and I have a challenge daily getting her to eat. She ate an entire serving of this stew. The only thing I did differently was being a little heavy handed with the wine. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Have made this a few times and it always comes out great. Make a few modifications, per others' suggestions: use combo of beef stock, water and red wine, add celery etc. Thanks to OP and other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It's okay, but it's more like pot roast with lots of gravy than stew. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Lovely dinner for a cold winter evening. Easy to prep in the morning, and wonderful to come home to. The meat was nice and tender (I think the browning made that happen). I used the Yukon potatoes I had on hand, which worked out well. I added a few more carrots than called for, and I didn't end up needing a thickener at the end, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I was worried that it would be too onion-y, but it all really cooked down and the onion didn't overwhelm in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very tasty, the stew meat was extremely tender and everyone went back for 2nds. I followed all the directions and added all the ingredients, I added fresh herbs, more vegetables & a tiny bit of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Delicious! My family loved it. Just the way stew should be. The only change I made was I didn't add the flour at the end because I felt it was thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
With this recipe, I cooked the best stew I have ever made to date. My other stews were never this tasty, nor the meat so tender...this beef was falling apart and you could break it apart with the slightest touch from a spoon. Even the leftovers were amazingly tender, and I think the flavor just got better. Didn't change a thing. Filing this one in my bag of tricks. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States