Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. Please don't be deterred by the "extra preparation" noted in some of the reviews. Every step is worth it, from browning the meat to deglazing the pan. This hearty and flavorful stew satisfied my family and dinner guests. Everyone went back for more. I followed the recipe as written, using merlot for the red wine because I like the rich flavor and Yukon Gold potatoes because I like their taste and texture and they were on hand for the Potato Fougasse (potato bread with olive oil and rosemary) I made to accompany the stew. They were wonderful together. Trust your instincts when thickening the stew once it is done. Some reviews complained about consistency but you really need to decide what it needs for yourself using more or less of a flour/water paste than indicated. Do what works for you. (And by the way, if you have extra merlot use it with the flour instead of water to thicken the stew to impart some extra flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1076 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Yum! This is a great basic recipe but I did make some changes. I marinated the beef in the wine and some minced garlic for a few hours (I made this on a weekend). I floured and fried in oil as directed. I omitted the onion soup and we didn't miss it at all, but I did use beef broth in place of the water. I added celery and mushrooms, and also tossed some peas in at the very end. I added a bay leaf and some thyme and a pinch of rosemary. Next time, I might add some tomato paste or diced tomatoes. Very tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
668 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Added a little extra wine, worcestershire, and garlic powder like other users suggested, as well as a pinch of red pepper. I ended up cooking it for 1 1/2 hours on high heat and 3 on low to speed things up a bit, and it turned out great. This recipe is a real winner -- the meat was very tender and the gravy texture, perfect. Served it up to rave reviews. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have to add my accolades for this recipe; it's great. Like others, we skipped the onion soup, replaced the water with beef stock, added extra veggies, and added garlic. Didn't thicken - it wasn't necessary. Slice up a tender roast that falls apart in the cooker instead of getting "stew meat." It's just plain wonderful, and after it gets a little gone, just add some corn, green beans, whatever, to make it last even longer. I don't know why, but I think it's the wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a perfectly simple, yet delicious, beef stew recipe. I should probably rate it 5 stars, but since I slightly tweeked the recipe I give it a four since my rule is 5 stars only if I make no changes. The only changes I made are to add 4 cloves of garlic, I used 1 cup water and 2 cups Merlot for my liquid (it still could have used another cup of liquid), but the extra wine added a richness water could not achieve. I also used more carrots since the pot seemed to be lacking. Simple changes to suit our taste. Seasoned just right...didn't add or regret not adding any seasoning. Kept us warm and satisfied! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was REALLY good...the meat was kind of dry but that might be user error ... :) I'll still give it a 5. (of course my house still smells like stew...) I used about 1.25# of meat or so, Lipton beefy onion soup mix, 2 small packs of baby carrots, 2 red potatoes, and 1 onion. I didn't saute the onions in butter either. I prepped this the night before, and next morning, popped it in the crock pot. It cooked on low for 12 hrs (might account for the dryness). The meat shredded easily. My fiance thought it was tasty, so I think this recipe is a keeper. I might add some beef broth next time for more liquid to combat the dryness. The pepper really gives it a little kick! I didn't have to thicken the gravy because I had dumped in the flour from the meat. All in all, a successful first crock pot experience... :) *note - I've made this several times now, and adding the can of beef broth really helps! From now on, I'll make sure all of my crock pot dishes have enough liquid to cover the meat! I also have been using sweet potatoes in lieu of regular potatoes...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This was one delicious stew! I am not a great fan of beef stews but this one was so good even I had seconds! My husband thought it was outstanding. The only thing extra I did was add about 1 1/2 cups frozen peas to have more vegetables. I made this on a cold snowy day and the house was so full of wonderful smells our mouths were watering by dinnertime!! I will be making this often in the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
My husband has been asking me to make him some stew so I gave this recipe a try. He loved it! I used 2 cups of beef broth instead of 2 cups of water and also used some Au Jus seasoning with the soup mix. I also added in some fresh garlic and mushrooms. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this last night, and it turned out great, the best beef stew I ever made. I let my mom try it and she loved it. Only thing that would make it better is if I did not cut the potatoes and carrots into big chunks but bite size pieces!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Excellent! I sub'd small pearl onions and small potatoes, both cut in half. We really enjoyed the stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States