Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Followed the recipe but also added some beef broth. It was so good, and since I doubled it, we had a lot left over. It was even better reheated in the crock pot. I did need to add a bit more broth since it had really thickened, but my husband and two boys have very hearty appetites. I will make this a regular dish at home. Served with biscuits and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Awesome, had to add a bit more flour to thicken it up though. To reduce the prep time I didn't flour the meat or saute the onions I just dropped them in. Also I didn't add butter. Came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was pretty good. Very adaptable to what you like. I added peas, used regular carrots and red potatoes b/c that's what I had. I put a little too much vinegar in and had to add a cup more water but it was fine in the end after adding a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Love a 50/50 meat to veggie ratio, so loaded up on extra carrots, celery, mushroom & onion. One seasoning packet was light, I would use two next time. Enjoyed for several days of quick, reheat lunch & dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I really liked this stew. Great flavor, very rich and thick. I had to make a few changes, however. First, 3 pounds of meat was too much. Maybe the recipe used a much larger slow cooker than mine. I used about 2 pounds of meat. Also, it was a little too thick and not enough sauce. When it was almost ready, I actually removed at least a 1/3 of the ingredients (meat, potatoes, and carrots), leaving 2/3 of the recipe and the sauce in the slow cooker. I then added the 1/4 cup water and 2 tbs flour so the sauce could thicken. At that point, it was a nearly perfect stew. I added a bit more salt (to taste) and just a bit more red wine, let it sit for about 5 minutes and then served. Everyone loved it! As to the 1/3 of the ingredients that were removed from the recipe, after our dinner, I just put them all back in the slow cooker, which of course left very little of the sauce, but it was still a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony
Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was really simply perfect, My family really enjoyed it,Only thing I didn't use was the wine, It still tasted Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This makes an excellent stew. I followed the advice to use extra wine (I used Malbec) and probably could have used a bit more. I also added some fresh rosemary, as I had some on hand that I wanted to use up. It got rave reviews. It does require a lot of prep time (took me an hour to get it into the slow cooker), especially because browning 3 pounds of meat takes a lot of time. But I have to say that the meat came out very tender and juicy because of the browning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I used celery instead of potatoes and I cooked it on high for 4 hours. It still came out delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I skipped the onions because I am not a huge fan but still used the onion soup mix which added good flavor. I took everyone's advice and used extra red wine but went a little overboard. Next time I'll still use extra but still not as much and the first time. The merlot definitely added a great flavor. The meat came out nice and moist and pulled apart. I used red potatoes because those are my favorite and they cooked great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish. I did make a few alterations to suit our preferences. I added half of a package of ranch dip mix to give it a bit more flavor. I also added 3 stalks of celery and a seeded and halved habanero pepper to give it a bite; I removed each half when the stew was finished. We have culantro in our garden so we minced one leaf and added it to the last 20 minutes of cooking time (cilantro would also be good). This gave the stew a whole new flavor and really brought it all together. My slow cooker is powerful so I only cooked this on low for 5.5 hours and the meat and vegetables turned out tender and delicious without being soggy. Although I did make alterations, I still give this recipe a 5 as it was a great base to work from before adding our personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States