Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Despite the onion soup mix, I still thought it tasted a bit bland. Maybe I needed to add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe - this is a keeper! Took a little longer than 15 minutes for the prep (unless all your vegies/potatoes are pre-cut), so maybe expect more like 30 minutes for the prep. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for liberally adding a few teaspoons of garlic (crushed - the fresh garlic that comes in a jar) and making the liquid half bordeaux wine and half water. Loved the flavor and aroma the wine added, but next time I will probably use beef stock instead of the water and maybe add some Worcestershire sauce to give it a more robust beefy taste - and make the total liquid added to the slow cooker equal about a cup more than specified in the recipe. I wouldn't be shy about adding a few more spices - like rosemary, fresh ground black pepper, etc. to taste. I don't like the idea of the MSG in the onion soup mix, but I would not leave the onion soup mix out - this recipe benefits tremendously from its taste. I think it would definitely be missing something significant without it. I cooked mine overnight because I work very long days (11-hours) so cooking it through the day was not an option. I cooked it on high for about 1.5 hours and turned it down to low for another 5 hours. It came out with the vegies maybe just a touch too al-dente. I might consider adding another hour cooking at low next time. I didn't thicken the liquid at the end - it didn't need it. The meat turned out very tender and moist. Keep the size of potatoes and vegies small and bite-sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Fantastic....i hadded my personal touch. In the flour mixture for the meat, i hadded with the flour one big table spoon of paprika, 1/3 cup of Chili Ketchup Heinz in the slow cooker, some french thym, wortcheshire sauce, oinion soup was Lipton onions and garlic. 15 min to the end i cooked some whole fresh green beans in olive and a bit of butter or margarine with fresh garlic and salted herbs. Once cooked "aldente" i have serve them on top of the stew. Soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was delicious. I'd definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Well worth the extra steps. Very good. I am pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband loves this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious and flavourful, just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
When I made this recipe as written it was kind of bland. The next time I made it i used beef broth instead of water, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
just made this today just as said but i did add a little garlic powder & didnt have to add the flour & water at the end. Perfect thickness. Will def make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this recipe once before and by boyfriend loved it and now here I am again! what I love about this recipe, is that it's simple and to the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoxyElla

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States