Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made a few minor changes to the recipe. I didn't have wine so I didn't deglaze, and I added bay leaves, dried basil, and garlic salt along with the dried parsley. I also didn't need to add the flour at the end. It was so delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Danielle
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband adores any type of stew. I left the potatoes out and added an onion and A TON of baby carrots. It turned out so well. I will be making again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great recipe worth the extra steps: browning, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisjlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love beef stew in the slow cooker in the fall and all through winter. I prefer celery and a lot of garlic. This recipe is very versatile based on what you have on hand. This time I had an orange banana pepper and it turned out great! Searing the meat is really key to tender pieces in the end, I have made it both ways and that extra step makes a world of difference. This is the season for this recipe and I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
A lot like Kim's Beef pot roast recipe with the wine and soup mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was tasty. I omitted the onion soup mix only because I didn't have any on hand, but will make it again and add the soup because I think it would enhance the overall flavour. I also added beef broth in place of the water. Used almost an entire bottle of merlot (!) as I really wanted the flavour of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was very good. I did not brown the meat 1st & I didn't add the red wine because I didn't have any. I added garlic powder & a little extra water & it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is just like the recipe my mom used to make. Took me years to find just the right one to fill the void I was missing. Can't say enough about it. Great for those cool fall nights or anytime really. thanks for posting this recipe! Simple to prepare and with a little patience it will be worth it. I did alter it just a little by browning the meat in a rosemary/garlic in olive oil mix. I just scraped what was left over in crock pot but I did add the Merlot wine to the pot directly..helps the meat tenderize and give the gravy a subtle flare. And I added about 1/4 cup of brown gravy mix at the end..no onion soup mix. It is greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Good broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was good. A bit of prep work but worth it for the delicious, tender meat. Though I'd say don't forget garlic, that's a serious omission! Otherwise something was missing... Bay leaves or maybe more wine. Will make again, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States