Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish. I did make a few alterations to suit our preferences. I added half of a package of ranch dip mix to give it a bit more flavor. I also added 3 stalks of celery and a seeded and halved habanero pepper to give it a bite; I removed each half when the stew was finished. We have culantro in our garden so we minced one leaf and added it to the last 20 minutes of cooking time (cilantro would also be good). This gave the stew a whole new flavor and really brought it all together. My slow cooker is powerful so I only cooked this on low for 5.5 hours and the meat and vegetables turned out tender and delicious without being soggy. Although I did make alterations, I still give this recipe a 5 as it was a great base to work from before adding our personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was an excellent stew! My whole family loved it. I cooked it for the most part of the day on low and the meat was super tender. I did have to add some water a couple of times. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wow! We love, love, LOVE this beef stew! We made some modification based on what other reviewers had said, and the final product was amazing. We browned the flour and salt, plus 1/2tsp. paprika and garlic covered meat, then put it in the crockpot. In the same pan as the meat, I browned the onions until soft, then added 4 Tbsp. minced garlic, waited until it was fragrant, and then turned off the heat and added 3/4 of wine, making sure to scrape all the browned bits up. Then I put that mixture in the crockpot. I added the carrots, parsley, pepper, and onion soup like the recipe called for, and exchanged the water for beef broth, and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. Paprika, 2 Bay leafs, 1 tsp. thyme and rosemary. I omitted the potatoes, and served it over egg noddles. This made for an amazing stew! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Excellent for a cold winter night...I kinda changed it up a bit no used white wine instead of red, basil instead of parsley added scallons and mushrooms also before pre-cooking the meat I minced and sauteed 4 cloves of garlic then cooked the meat. Cant even describe how the flavor explodes it is YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good. I added a few more potatoes and carrots because it didn't seem to be enough for the amount of beef. I also added about a cup and half more water. I increased the Merlot to 3/4 cup. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I used cornstarch to thicken the gravy. My hubby loved it! Will make again. Oh and the prep time is more like 45 minutes minimum instead of the 15 listed. But it's worth it! I ran out of time so I cooked it on high for about 3 hours and turned it down to low for about 2 hours. The meat was very tender. Served with a good crusty bread for dipping in the gravy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
It ended up being good but I had to add seasonings and tomato paste to give it decent flavor. As written it was just OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great on a cold winter day. Served with sour dough bread. Just added sliced celery and crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today and my family loved it. I used 2 pounds of pot roast instead of the stew beef. I also added 1 can of Campbell's beef consumme to have a little more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is great. I followed the original recipe pretty closely but added 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onions while sauteeing. I also took the advice of some reviews by replacing the 1/4 C of water with more wine along with about a 1/4 teaspoon of Worcestershire Sauce to mix the addl. 2 Tbsp. of flour before the last 15 minutes of cooking time. A big hit with the family including my picky little one. OK--this is amended a week past my first. The original recipe is great. Today, I made it for the second time and it proved not to be a fluke that it was good. New batch of stew meat and it was just as tender, moist and tasty as last time. This time, I added some dried puccini and portabella mushrooms. Oh, my husband likes peas so we added them too! It just gets more fabulous! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this last night and was absolutely delicious. I did not se wine simy because I forgot!!! Turned out great anyways. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States