Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was really simply perfect, My family really enjoyed it,Only thing I didn't use was the wine, It still tasted Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This makes an excellent stew. I followed the advice to use extra wine (I used Malbec) and probably could have used a bit more. I also added some fresh rosemary, as I had some on hand that I wanted to use up. It got rave reviews. It does require a lot of prep time (took me an hour to get it into the slow cooker), especially because browning 3 pounds of meat takes a lot of time. But I have to say that the meat came out very tender and juicy because of the browning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I used celery instead of potatoes and I cooked it on high for 4 hours. It still came out delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I skipped the onions because I am not a huge fan but still used the onion soup mix which added good flavor. I took everyone's advice and used extra red wine but went a little overboard. Next time I'll still use extra but still not as much and the first time. The merlot definitely added a great flavor. The meat came out nice and moist and pulled apart. I used red potatoes because those are my favorite and they cooked great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish. I did make a few alterations to suit our preferences. I added half of a package of ranch dip mix to give it a bit more flavor. I also added 3 stalks of celery and a seeded and halved habanero pepper to give it a bite; I removed each half when the stew was finished. We have culantro in our garden so we minced one leaf and added it to the last 20 minutes of cooking time (cilantro would also be good). This gave the stew a whole new flavor and really brought it all together. My slow cooker is powerful so I only cooked this on low for 5.5 hours and the meat and vegetables turned out tender and delicious without being soggy. Although I did make alterations, I still give this recipe a 5 as it was a great base to work from before adding our personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was an excellent stew! My whole family loved it. I cooked it for the most part of the day on low and the meat was super tender. I did have to add some water a couple of times. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wow! We love, love, LOVE this beef stew! We made some modification based on what other reviewers had said, and the final product was amazing. We browned the flour and salt, plus 1/2tsp. paprika and garlic covered meat, then put it in the crockpot. In the same pan as the meat, I browned the onions until soft, then added 4 Tbsp. minced garlic, waited until it was fragrant, and then turned off the heat and added 3/4 of wine, making sure to scrape all the browned bits up. Then I put that mixture in the crockpot. I added the carrots, parsley, pepper, and onion soup like the recipe called for, and exchanged the water for beef broth, and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. Paprika, 2 Bay leafs, 1 tsp. thyme and rosemary. I omitted the potatoes, and served it over egg noddles. This made for an amazing stew! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Excellent for a cold winter night...I kinda changed it up a bit no used white wine instead of red, basil instead of parsley added scallons and mushrooms also before pre-cooking the meat I minced and sauteed 4 cloves of garlic then cooked the meat. Cant even describe how the flavor explodes it is YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good. I added a few more potatoes and carrots because it didn't seem to be enough for the amount of beef. I also added about a cup and half more water. I increased the Merlot to 3/4 cup. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I used cornstarch to thicken the gravy. My hubby loved it! Will make again. Oh and the prep time is more like 45 minutes minimum instead of the 15 listed. But it's worth it! I ran out of time so I cooked it on high for about 3 hours and turned it down to low for about 2 hours. The meat was very tender. Served with a good crusty bread for dipping in the gravy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
It ended up being good but I had to add seasonings and tomato paste to give it decent flavor. As written it was just OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States