Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was tasty. I omitted the onion soup mix only because I didn't have any on hand, but will make it again and add the soup because I think it would enhance the overall flavour. I also added beef broth in place of the water. Used almost an entire bottle of merlot (!) as I really wanted the flavour of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was very good. I did not brown the meat 1st & I didn't add the red wine because I didn't have any. I added garlic powder & a little extra water & it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is just like the recipe my mom used to make. Took me years to find just the right one to fill the void I was missing. Can't say enough about it. Great for those cool fall nights or anytime really. thanks for posting this recipe! Simple to prepare and with a little patience it will be worth it. I did alter it just a little by browning the meat in a rosemary/garlic in olive oil mix. I just scraped what was left over in crock pot but I did add the Merlot wine to the pot directly..helps the meat tenderize and give the gravy a subtle flare. And I added about 1/4 cup of brown gravy mix at the end..no onion soup mix. It is greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Good broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was good. A bit of prep work but worth it for the delicious, tender meat. Though I'd say don't forget garlic, that's a serious omission! Otherwise something was missing... Bay leaves or maybe more wine. Will make again, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This beef stew recipe is a keeper! With a rich, peppery flavor, we were all begging for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Conners

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious!!! Simple yet the best stew recipe yet...might be the extra red wine I added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe except I used 3 potatoes instead of 4, omitted the parsley, added bay leaf and 1/2 can of chicken broth. Cooked in on high for 3 hours and low for 2, turned out fabulous. The meat and potatoes and were tasty and tender without falling apart too much. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I used petite sirloin for the beef. After it was cooked, it seemed rather bland. I added a tablespoon of beef flavored Better Than Boullion, some Thyme and more salt and pepper. That improved the flavor dramatically! I also added frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I had been looking for a good recipe for beef stew for a few years. I found this recipe about three years ago and it did the trick! By all means this has become the go to recipe for stew. In fact I make it and Freeze it in mason jars in individual sized portions to thaw for lunch or dinner as needed. It's even better after it comes out of the freezer and the flavors all blend together. I love to give my kids healthy hot meals in the winter for school lunches, and this is perfect to thaw overnight and throw in their thermoses in the morning for their lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States