Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I'm a newlywed and this was the best recipe to teach me how to make stew - my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good. I need to figure out how to make it a bit thicker in the pot but my daughter said she preferred it that way. I would also like to try this again and add some peas to the recipe. The taste is amazing and it smelled great in the house all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
i skip the onion soup stuff just slow good meat in 2 cup beef broth instead of water and onion soup and added a teaspoon of rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Spasojevic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This beef stew is wonderful. I decided to try it after reading the reviews. I was not thrilled with some of the steps but trusted other reviewers who said it was worth the trouble. I do agree..it is worth the trouble. I am not a wine drinker so I had to use red cooking wine. My husband thought it was delicious. We ate it with baked apples and green beans the first time, but ate the leftovers by itself out of a big soup bowl. It will be the only beef stew recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe!!! Based on 4 servings, I added a bay leaf, 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp rosemary, 3 oz. tomato paste (half a 6 oz. can) and no butter. In place of the boullion, in a small bowl, I mixed 2/3 cup of water, 1tbsp plus 1tsp wine, 3 oz. tomato sauce and one Swanson's beef flavored Flavor Boost packet. I poured this mixture over the items in the crockpot. I added 1 cup of frozen organic peas at the end of cooking time. Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't really a fan? Maybe it's spiced heavy? I actually added more water and it was still kinda dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
OK starting point but needs more flavor. More spices are needed and more flavorful vegetables. Here's my recommendations: Change meat from 3 lbs to 2 lbs Change 3 large potatoes to 2 large white potatoes + 1 large sweet potato or yam Change the cup of baby carrots to 3-4 carrots cut into large pieces (baby carrots DO NOT have the same depth of flavor) Change the two cups boiling water to two cups beef broth Add 1 small can of baby peas at the end of the cooking time while the gravy is thickening Add the following seasonings: 2 Bay Leaves 2 TB Worcestershire Sauce 2 tsp Garlic Powder 1 tsp Paprika 2 tsp Salt It's definitely a keeper with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a very good stew recipe, great for a cold winter night. Followed the recipe exactly except I added peas at the end and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Also added a beef stew seasoning packet & drop biscuits to top in last 30 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the best stew I have ever made. I followed all of the directions with the exception of using less meat (I only had one pound), but I kept all of the other proportions the same (except I used one onion instead of three and decreased the butter to go with it) and it still turned out fantastic. I also used wine at the end to mix with the flour instead of water. VERY good! My husband was happy and noticed right away that it was a different, more delicious recipe than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States