Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have wine to glaze the pan so I used part water and part packaged beef stew mix and it came out great! Also I didn't use the onion mix. I just added the glaze to the crock pot and the stew was hearty and delicious! The key is season your meat! My family loved it and wanted to know when I would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was worried that the stew would cook dry since not much liquid is added, but that wasn't the case at all. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I think it could stand a little more flavor (salt, garlic...something). However, it was delicious and a winner at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was amazing!! The ONLY thing we did different was instead of water, used beef broth, per others suggestion. Well worth the little extra prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Overall, I was pleased. The meat was very tender. Next time, instead of the water and onion soup mix, I'll add two cups of beef broth and a cup of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Reminded me of the stew my dad made when I was younger - thick and delicious. I left out the red wine, used broth for the water and added a bunch of garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Instead of using red wine - I used 1/4 cup of whiskey. I also added garlic (because I love it way too much). I browned the meat, but didn't overcook it as I figured it would get cooked thoroughly from the heat. I also didn't use the slow cooker as it was too small. Just followed the instructions. Let it "boil" for 30 minutes and let it on low the rest of the day. I really enjoyed this stew and will be making it again. It was also the first time I have ever made stew and was really happy with how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was ok. I cooked on high for an hour and a 1/2 and then on low for 3 hours. I added more red wine than what was called for and some worcheshire sauce. To me it just tasted like stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Substituted some of the water for more red wine ;) It was amazing! Have made it twice and tastes perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
LOVE this meal… A definite "Go To" in our house. The best recipe I've ever found on this site. As we are only a family of 2, the portion size lasts us through the majority of the week and it tastes great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this many times and it is by far the best Beef Stew Recipe I have come across..I believe it is the wine that makes it special. Even though I have played around with measurements, I have never strayed from the original ingredients. Also, do not try to shortcut or skip steps....each step is an important contribution to the success of this recipe. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States