Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made a few changes...I added a can of tomatoes and used a lightly toasted rue instead of the flour and water. I think the addition of these two things made it more rich. It was very easy and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this recipe pretty much as is with the excpetion of adding beef broth instead of the warm water and I added celery as it's just a preference. This recipe was AWESOME! This will defintiely replace by previous receipe as even my picky 6 year old and 2 year old twins gobbled this up! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was seriously so good and so easy!!! I am not very experienced in the kitchen and looked at a lot of different recipes before settling on this one. I stuck to the recipe exactly, except I used wine instead of water when adding at the flour at the very end. Everything else was exactly as the recipe called for. Oh and we did it on high for 90 mins and low for 3 hours because we got a late start. There was plenty of gravy, and it was the perfect consistency. We had my mother in law over for dinner and she said it was the best stew she'd ever had. Score! Stick to the recipe - you won't be sorry! Served it with a side salad, some sour dough bread...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
right on, used a red wine to deglaze the pan, I didnt have any parsley flakes and no soup mix, I used chicken stock, thats what I had on hand, really good beef stew, i added extra potatoes & carrots. little extra wine also. willl make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe was a great start to play with and make my own. My husband is a picky eater and tough critic but he raved about this more than anything I've made in a while. I followed the recipe for the most part but used pinot grigio in place of the red wine, still using it to deglaze the pan after cooking the beef and the onions beforehand. I also added fresh green beans and mushrooms, some garlic powder and an extra cup of water before leaving the stew to slow-cook on low for 8hrs. When I got home, I added the flour and water and boiled some egg noodles and it was a perfect meal. It came our really great and I will absolutely make beef stew this way from now on. It took a while to prep in the morning but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tronkaza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderful. Even took out a bowl an hour early an it was good. The stew that cooked the whole time had meat that just melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I just made this recipe tonight. I was almost deterred by the additional prep work but I was home so thought...why not!! OMG I am sooo happy I tried it. This stew is really really good!! A lot of others were telling about alterations they did to the recipe. I am a big believer in trying things the way they are meant to be at leas the first time, so I did not change a thing and I am so glad I didn't! This stew is fantastic just the way it is and the meat comes out very tender! I will definitely be making this again. It is a bit light on the veggies if you like that sort of thing but hearty none the less. The taste is not too much and not too bland...I bet this makes a great leftover lunch too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe! Followed exactly as written with the exception of adding mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms with a little butter and more red wine before doing the deglazing. My very picky 6 year old ate this as well. She was shocked she liked onions! The flavor was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Good base recipe but i added and sutracted. Omitted onion soup, replaced w better than bullion and kept same amt of boiling water. Added garlic and subtracted one onion. The wine should be a flavorful one..used carmenere. I prefer rutabega to potato, and added parsnips as well. I got lots of compliments though, maybe i should write my own recipe, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States