Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was probably the best stew I ever had. The only change I made was to use an additional 1/4 cup wine instead of water when mixing with the flour for gravy at the end. I also used regular carrots (about 6) cut diagonally instead of baby carrots, and I used only 1 small onion. I felt 3 onions and onion soup mix would have been overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Amazing. Made this today for my family, and everyone 'LOVED' it. Absolutely perfect. A few variables, due to availability of ingredients, but the end result was still great. Didn't have wine, parsley, or onion mix. instead I had some beef stock. Added celery and garlic. Only 1 onion rather than 3 (since some people here are extremely picky about onion.) I thought it might still be too much onion, but picky-person was still impressed, since the onion taste was there (sweet taste) yet not overwhelming. Thank you for the recipe, and making me look like a star chef! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was so good! Don't skip a step.. it really did seem like a lot to go through, but it was worth it. I didn't have red wine on hand, so I looked up substitutions for it. The one that kept popping up was grape juice, so I gave that a try and it still tasted really good. I will make this again and again, for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was a great recipe and I didn't have to tweak the seasonings like I typically do! I did everything in the crockpot (because I'm lazy like that) and loved how this came out. To start with, I put the beef in the crock pot and added about 3 TBS of flour directly to the pot and stirred it together with the meat, then threw in the remaining called for ingredients including the diced onion (skipped the butter and skipped browning the onions). I added hot water, not boiling and I didn't have red wine so I used beef broth instead. I used half white and half sweet potatoes and tossed in some leftover mushrooms I had as well. I set it on low and it was tender and delicious 8 hours later! This is a great crockpot beef stew recipe that I will gladly use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Beana03
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Made this tonight.. Cooked it all day for my husband. I, myself am not a fan of stew. But this recipe is delicious. Its easy and keeps your house smelling amazing all day. I added a few more spices such as Garlic and instead of baby carrots i use regular carrots. But it turned out amazing. I ate it all up and then went for seconds. Thank you for this amazing recipe. I also added a picture of the finished stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
absolutely delicious. I didnt saute the onions in wine like it called for. I just put it in the pot with the other vegetables and added an additional, maybe 1 1/2 cups of water. great stew so much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Turned out perfect. Made it with Gluten-free flour & it was awesome & safe for Celiacs! Easy to prepare & cooked all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Tastes great! Added some garlic salt and mushrooms and actually cooked for an additional 45 mins, but it goes super well with fresh baked bread and butter! Definitely try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I marinated the meat in chopped garlic and wine overnight. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a 1/2 cup of sofrito and 1/2 cup of recaito to the dish. It turned out absolutely amazing!!! My hubby could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is the best beef stew I have ever eaten. I did use 2lbs. of beef and more carrots and potatoes. I did not have to add any flour or water at the end it was prefect. So yummy my whole family eat it even my picky teenager!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States