Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was absolutely fab. I also marinated the mean in wine overnight and also added a bit of garlic powder and salt. The mean fell apart like a pot roast; simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn
Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
It was way too thick for my tastes and the flavors were overpowering. If I were to make it again, I'd use a lot for liquid and tone down the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie J. Woeber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I cut the meat down to 2lbs, and thought the ratio was good. I recommend seasoning the meat before flour to ensure balance. I use a salt/pepper/garlic powder blend (Paula Dean house seasoning). I did use a can beef broth instead of water to mix with onion soup. Deglazing is kind of a wasted step when you use non-stick pans (I know, "THE HUMANITY"). I still did it because I wanted the wine. 3 onions seem excessive to me, so I used 1 really big one. You can really eyeball potatoes and carrots to get the perfect mix that works for you. I was a little surprised that no one expressed concern that there wasn't enough liquid when you firt put everything in. Don't worry, just step away from the pot and it will take care of itself. I don't know why anyone would need to thicken this stew up. If you have enough potatoes (we're potato people), the starch from the potatoes breaking down should thicken this up very nicely. I even added 1/4 of wine toward the end to thin, and to give it that extra kick of flavor. This really isn't as much of a change as it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Excellent!! I substituted half red wine for the water, and added more carrots. It was soo good, I don't think that you can get 12 servings from it!!! Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This beef stew is awesome. The only thing I added was garlic and maybe a little extra wine. So good and worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was wonderful! The only thing I changed was I used low sodium beef broth instead of using the 2 cups of water. Gave it so much more flavor. I also added celery to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Best beef stew ever! I added a bit of celery and a couple bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was great!!!!! The "extra steps" arent that bad at all...youre essentially using the same pot to cook everything before hand. No biggie! Just be aware it takes some time, if you were planning on cooking this in the AM before rushing out the door for work! Did everything exact, except added some worchestershire sauce....yum! A previous commenter noted anchovies give this a little extra kick, and worchestershire sauce does have anchovy....so try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Nothing more special than any other Stew, BUT still very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family loved this reciepes!! I added leeks to the sautéed onions, added a 1 cup of red wine (barbera), also a ton of spices ie rosemary, thyme, garlic & garlic salt and lots and lots of cracked black pepper, and added a whole box of beef broth to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States