Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good base recipe but lacking in flavor, used extra salt and pepper. Recommend beef broth and/or cream of mushroom soup to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made on stove top as not enough time for slow cooker....loved it! Simmered for about 5 hours and did not need to add any additional flour. Used 1 can beef broth instead of any water. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
It's the best stew I've cooked so far. I've tried so many recipes and this is my son's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this last week and it was a big hit. Next time, I might use less pepper, as the taste (I think coupled with the onion soup mix) was a bit overwhelming. The meat ended up being super tender and delicious. We were pushing aside the veggies and fighting over the yummy meat. I would also have less potatoes and more carrots, making the two more of an even mix. We tried heating up the left overs the next day to marginal success. It was so thick, that we had to make gravy to get back the original texture. This is a solid recipe though and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Bloody excellent, savory taste, nice gravy, live in Thailand and good western food is difficult to find. Have made this 3 times & always great raves. I did add some dehydrated button mushrooms (a few) & a few anchovie fillets (chopped) a trick I learned from the Cook's website - fantastic flavor. Also optional a Tbl spoon of Bovril for a more savory traditional British culinary experience - awesome. Thank you IAMROSIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family didn't like this too much. My husband said it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this last night for company and everyone loved it! I used just 1 large sweet onion, doubled amt of red wine to 1/2c, & added some cherry tomatoes that weren't good enuf for the salad. I was short on time, so had slow cooker on high for 3 or 3 1/2 hours, and it was delicious! Next time I'll try the variations without the onion soup, since all those I could find had MSG in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
great recipe. it's a good base and easy to customize. i browned the meat, and threw it on high for 3.5 hours and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
great stew. added fresh mushrooms, a stalk of celery, beef broth instead of water and a beef stew slow cooker mccormick seasoning pack instead of onion soup. eliminated the wine. can't go wrong with a few substitutions, but i think the beef broth really brings out the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Excellent! Cubed a pot roast and it turned out great. Didn't have a cork screw, so no wine, but I want to try Merlot next time. Added celery, carrots, green beans, two large Russet potatoes. With all that, I had to use two cans of beef broth and a bit more water, and then about three tablespoons of cornstarch and some flour to get it to all thicken up. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States