Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I've had this recipe for over 30 years only I now put one bottle of beer instead of the wine and my husband flips over this version. Give it a try-the beer adds another layer of heartiness to the stew.Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
i have been making this for years. it is basic stew and its never fail. i always omit salt when using wine. i do add extra pepper.and a bay leaf..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just finished making this stew and I followed the recipe exactly as written. I have a recipe that I always use for stew that is very good but I decided to try this recipe because it didn't seem to be as much work as my other recipe, all the 5* reviews this recipe received, and because I had an envelope of onion soup mix I wanted to get rid of. I can't put my finger on what it is about this stew that I don't like but I think it may be the onion soup mix. That is the only ingredient that isn't in my regular stew. The gravy seems as if it has too many different flavors happening and tastes a bit strange to me. I'm going to play with it a bit now with maybe some canned tomatoes and whatever else I can dig up in my pantry to try and soften the flavors but I found the recipe as written was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Despite the onion soup mix, I still thought it tasted a bit bland. Maybe I needed to add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe - this is a keeper! Took a little longer than 15 minutes for the prep (unless all your vegies/potatoes are pre-cut), so maybe expect more like 30 minutes for the prep. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for liberally adding a few teaspoons of garlic (crushed - the fresh garlic that comes in a jar) and making the liquid half bordeaux wine and half water. Loved the flavor and aroma the wine added, but next time I will probably use beef stock instead of the water and maybe add some Worcestershire sauce to give it a more robust beefy taste - and make the total liquid added to the slow cooker equal about a cup more than specified in the recipe. I wouldn't be shy about adding a few more spices - like rosemary, fresh ground black pepper, etc. to taste. I don't like the idea of the MSG in the onion soup mix, but I would not leave the onion soup mix out - this recipe benefits tremendously from its taste. I think it would definitely be missing something significant without it. I cooked mine overnight because I work very long days (11-hours) so cooking it through the day was not an option. I cooked it on high for about 1.5 hours and turned it down to low for another 5 hours. It came out with the vegies maybe just a touch too al-dente. I might consider adding another hour cooking at low next time. I didn't thicken the liquid at the end - it didn't need it. The meat turned out very tender and moist. Keep the size of potatoes and vegies small and bite-sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Fantastic....i hadded my personal touch. In the flour mixture for the meat, i hadded with the flour one big table spoon of paprika, 1/3 cup of Chili Ketchup Heinz in the slow cooker, some french thym, wortcheshire sauce, oinion soup was Lipton onions and garlic. 15 min to the end i cooked some whole fresh green beans in olive and a bit of butter or margarine with fresh garlic and salted herbs. Once cooked "aldente" i have serve them on top of the stew. Soooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was delicious. I'd definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Well worth the extra steps. Very good. I am pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband loves this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious and flavourful, just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States