Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Just OK. It was my first stab at a slow cooked stew. It was flavorful and the meat was very tender but I feel there was something lacking. The recipe was easy enough for even the most inexperienced and the video gave an excellent visual instruction. I will probably make this again but will do something a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclark444

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent!! Just made this last night and my family went for seconds - even my husband who doesn't usually like stew. Was skeptical about the soup mix ingredient but it worked! Definitely watch the video for helpful chopping and searing tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was awesome! So tasty! I added 1/4 cup red wine (as I usually do to beef stew). I will be making this stew on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was an excellent recipe!! Only changes I made was to use beef bouillon, a little more water, Worcester sauce (couple dashes) and I threw in some mushrooms. Only difference is that mine was done in about four hours, not six. But delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Needed to figure out what to make for the Fiesta Bowl Game since in was going to be on a Thursday (GO DUCKS) and we were going to have people over.... i saw this and it worked perfect! Everyone loved it! I made it the night before and then in the morning I set it to our christmas light timer. So I wouldn't over cook it. It cooked for 7 1/2 hours on low. I never did the 30 min. high thing, cause i didn't have time. My crockpot was filled to the brim, but broke down and had lots of juice to it. Next time i might try the beef broth if i have any on hand. I just followed the recipe as is and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was really good. I did also us a little Marsala cooking wine with the red wine. I also added peas and bay leaves. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was my first attempt at stew in my new crockpot, and it came out great. I used condensed french onion soup, in addition to the dry onion soup mix and water. I was worried it might be too much onion flavor but it came out great. I also only had 1.25 pounds of beef, but still used the recipe proportions for the other ingredients, and there was enough meat. We ate it a little sooner than suggested cooking time, it was still great but meat was not as tender as we wanted. Left it to cook on low for another hour or so and it was perfect. Left overs were even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! It was great on a cold, winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The best stew recipe we've found so far. Used a Cabernet Shiraz for the wine and added some french style green beans. The sauce turned out so good, great for soaking those dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ch69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Instead of water I used beef broth low sodium and a slow cooker beef seasoning...I used half the package. I also put in baby bella mushrooms. I omitted the red wine and used a little broth in the pan after sauteing the onions to scrape up the bits. The smell in my apt was perfect for a rainy day and it tasted delicious. So easy to make... and considering this recipe is from many years ago, added more flavor instead of the water was perfect for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States