Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Love a 50/50 meat to veggie ratio, so loaded up on extra carrots, celery, mushroom & onion. One seasoning packet was light, I would use two next time. Enjoyed for several days of quick, reheat lunch & dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I really liked this stew. Great flavor, very rich and thick. I had to make a few changes, however. First, 3 pounds of meat was too much. Maybe the recipe used a much larger slow cooker than mine. I used about 2 pounds of meat. Also, it was a little too thick and not enough sauce. When it was almost ready, I actually removed at least a 1/3 of the ingredients (meat, potatoes, and carrots), leaving 2/3 of the recipe and the sauce in the slow cooker. I then added the 1/4 cup water and 2 tbs flour so the sauce could thicken. At that point, it was a nearly perfect stew. I added a bit more salt (to taste) and just a bit more red wine, let it sit for about 5 minutes and then served. Everyone loved it! As to the 1/3 of the ingredients that were removed from the recipe, after our dinner, I just put them all back in the slow cooker, which of course left very little of the sauce, but it was still a great lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony
Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was really simply perfect, My family really enjoyed it,Only thing I didn't use was the wine, It still tasted Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This makes an excellent stew. I followed the advice to use extra wine (I used Malbec) and probably could have used a bit more. I also added some fresh rosemary, as I had some on hand that I wanted to use up. It got rave reviews. It does require a lot of prep time (took me an hour to get it into the slow cooker), especially because browning 3 pounds of meat takes a lot of time. But I have to say that the meat came out very tender and juicy because of the browning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I used celery instead of potatoes and I cooked it on high for 4 hours. It still came out delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I skipped the onions because I am not a huge fan but still used the onion soup mix which added good flavor. I took everyone's advice and used extra red wine but went a little overboard. Next time I'll still use extra but still not as much and the first time. The merlot definitely added a great flavor. The meat came out nice and moist and pulled apart. I used red potatoes because those are my favorite and they cooked great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this dish. I did make a few alterations to suit our preferences. I added half of a package of ranch dip mix to give it a bit more flavor. I also added 3 stalks of celery and a seeded and halved habanero pepper to give it a bite; I removed each half when the stew was finished. We have culantro in our garden so we minced one leaf and added it to the last 20 minutes of cooking time (cilantro would also be good). This gave the stew a whole new flavor and really brought it all together. My slow cooker is powerful so I only cooked this on low for 5.5 hours and the meat and vegetables turned out tender and delicious without being soggy. Although I did make alterations, I still give this recipe a 5 as it was a great base to work from before adding our personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was an excellent stew! My whole family loved it. I cooked it for the most part of the day on low and the meat was super tender. I did have to add some water a couple of times. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wow! We love, love, LOVE this beef stew! We made some modification based on what other reviewers had said, and the final product was amazing. We browned the flour and salt, plus 1/2tsp. paprika and garlic covered meat, then put it in the crockpot. In the same pan as the meat, I browned the onions until soft, then added 4 Tbsp. minced garlic, waited until it was fragrant, and then turned off the heat and added 3/4 of wine, making sure to scrape all the browned bits up. Then I put that mixture in the crockpot. I added the carrots, parsley, pepper, and onion soup like the recipe called for, and exchanged the water for beef broth, and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. Paprika, 2 Bay leafs, 1 tsp. thyme and rosemary. I omitted the potatoes, and served it over egg noddles. This made for an amazing stew! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Excellent for a cold winter night...I kinda changed it up a bit no used white wine instead of red, basil instead of parsley added scallons and mushrooms also before pre-cooking the meat I minced and sauteed 4 cloves of garlic then cooked the meat. Cant even describe how the flavor explodes it is YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States