Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
It ended up being good but I had to add seasonings and tomato paste to give it decent flavor. As written it was just OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great on a cold winter day. Served with sour dough bread. Just added sliced celery and crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe today and my family loved it. I used 2 pounds of pot roast instead of the stew beef. I also added 1 can of Campbell's beef consumme to have a little more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is great. I followed the original recipe pretty closely but added 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onions while sauteeing. I also took the advice of some reviews by replacing the 1/4 C of water with more wine along with about a 1/4 teaspoon of Worcestershire Sauce to mix the addl. 2 Tbsp. of flour before the last 15 minutes of cooking time. A big hit with the family including my picky little one. OK--this is amended a week past my first. The original recipe is great. Today, I made it for the second time and it proved not to be a fluke that it was good. New batch of stew meat and it was just as tender, moist and tasty as last time. This time, I added some dried puccini and portabella mushrooms. Oh, my husband likes peas so we added them too! It just gets more fabulous! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this last night and was absolutely delicious. I did not se wine simy because I forgot!!! Turned out great anyways. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Awesome - Added Montreal Steak seasoning to flour. Browned beef w/ onions, put into crock pot. Added 2 cups of water to pan, added lipton soup and parsley - brought to a boil then added to beef in crock pot. Added vegetables to the top. Cooked 4 hours on high. Did not add wine. Was plenty thick without added additional flour and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I've had this recipe for over 30 years only I now put one bottle of beer instead of the wine and my husband flips over this version. Give it a try-the beer adds another layer of heartiness to the stew.Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
i have been making this for years. it is basic stew and its never fail. i always omit salt when using wine. i do add extra pepper.and a bay leaf..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just finished making this stew and I followed the recipe exactly as written. I have a recipe that I always use for stew that is very good but I decided to try this recipe because it didn't seem to be as much work as my other recipe, all the 5* reviews this recipe received, and because I had an envelope of onion soup mix I wanted to get rid of. I can't put my finger on what it is about this stew that I don't like but I think it may be the onion soup mix. That is the only ingredient that isn't in my regular stew. The gravy seems as if it has too many different flavors happening and tastes a bit strange to me. I'm going to play with it a bit now with maybe some canned tomatoes and whatever else I can dig up in my pantry to try and soften the flavors but I found the recipe as written was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Despite the onion soup mix, I still thought it tasted a bit bland. Maybe I needed to add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States