Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This turned out to be the best beef stew I've ever made. We did, however, adjust the seasoning thusly: omitted onion soup mix and boiling water and replaced with 2 cups of beef stock plus 1 heaping teaspoon minced garlic and 2 tsps Herbs d'Province. Added 2 tsps of sweet Paprika to the dredging flour. We used a Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine which worked great. Oh and we added 1/2 lb of sauteed mushrooms with the vegetables. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Could not be better! Followed exactly and came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Best beef stew ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Diehl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this stew many times. My husband loves it! A couple of times I didn't have any onion soup mix so I substituted 2 cups of boiling water with 3 Tbls. of chicken soup base, and 3 Tblsp. of tomato paste,1 Tblsp. worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. oregano. I also add a bay leaf on top while it is simmering. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I thought it was ok, a lot of prep for a slow cooker recipe. I took the day off, otherwise there would not have been time to prep it, which took closer to 25 mins. I did not have any onions - perhaps that would have mad the difference? My kids would have not liked the onions anyway. My son, 5, who is the least picky in my family loved it. My daughter, 8, was all "Meh". My husband is the most fussy and he swallowed a few bites, saying it was not his thing. I enjoyed it well enough, but will need to wait a good long time before trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is great stew. It has become a winter weather staple at home. Suggest marinating the beef in a good sweet red wine with a little cider vinegar or worcestershire. Use the marinade as the wine in the recipe but double the amount and you've got a great stew. goes great with biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really very good as written. I mostly followed the directions. Except for adding more wine they described and I used a tri-tip instead of beef stew. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This one is a keeper! I used this recipe to guide my first attempt at stew. Despite my lack of experience in the kitchen, the beef stew turned out great thanks to this recipe. Husband thought it was delicious too. I forgot to use wine but I imagine the stew would only improve with this additional step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Often hangry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe is DELICIOUS! Thank you IAMROSIE for posting it! I have tried several other beef stew recipes from this website, and this is by far my favorite. While other stew recipes can be bland, this one has excellent flavor. For the dry onion soup mix I used this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Dry-Onion-Soup-Mix/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=dry%20onion%20soup&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i1. I was hesitant to use three onions in the recipe, since it already calls for dry onion soup mix, but three is definitely the right amount. Additionally, I added the flour 20 minutes before serving in order to get the right consistency. I would not change anything about this recipe, it is perfect. My girlfriend loves this recipe, too, and she doesn't normally eat meat. This is a restaurant quality beef stew, or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Loved it. Made it twice, and it never lasted a day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yared Negussie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States