Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I thought it was ok, a lot of prep for a slow cooker recipe. I took the day off, otherwise there would not have been time to prep it, which took closer to 25 mins. I did not have any onions - perhaps that would have mad the difference? My kids would have not liked the onions anyway. My son, 5, who is the least picky in my family loved it. My daughter, 8, was all "Meh". My husband is the most fussy and he swallowed a few bites, saying it was not his thing. I enjoyed it well enough, but will need to wait a good long time before trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is great stew. It has become a winter weather staple at home. Suggest marinating the beef in a good sweet red wine with a little cider vinegar or worcestershire. Use the marinade as the wine in the recipe but double the amount and you've got a great stew. goes great with biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really very good as written. I mostly followed the directions. Except for adding more wine they described and I used a tri-tip instead of beef stew. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This one is a keeper! I used this recipe to guide my first attempt at stew. Despite my lack of experience in the kitchen, the beef stew turned out great thanks to this recipe. Husband thought it was delicious too. I forgot to use wine but I imagine the stew would only improve with this additional step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Often hangry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe is DELICIOUS! Thank you IAMROSIE for posting it! I have tried several other beef stew recipes from this website, and this is by far my favorite. While other stew recipes can be bland, this one has excellent flavor. For the dry onion soup mix I used this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Dry-Onion-Soup-Mix/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=dry%20onion%20soup&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i1. I was hesitant to use three onions in the recipe, since it already calls for dry onion soup mix, but three is definitely the right amount. Additionally, I added the flour 20 minutes before serving in order to get the right consistency. I would not change anything about this recipe, it is perfect. My girlfriend loves this recipe, too, and she doesn't normally eat meat. This is a restaurant quality beef stew, or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Loved it. Made it twice, and it never lasted a day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yared Negussie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I started using this recipe for my family last winter. It went off amazingly well & I couldn't keep my hubby out of the leftovers!! I followed the advice of using extra wine to make the thickening of the stew; I used a 3oz bottle of wine & with it being mixed with the stew, didn't leave much left in the bottle, so I added the rest in. I add mushrooms & a small bag of frozen peas because I like these in my stew. I also add an extra packet of onion soup mix & 2 cups of boiling water, so I have lots of gravy when its done; I omit the 2 onions & only use 1. Makes it taste amazing! Loved it & gearing up to make more for the freezer this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Finally did it right. I have NEVER been able to cook the beef to the right consistency. This has really been a fantastic recipe for me. Plus I love the video. Finally, love the fact I can put this on LOW and come home after travelling all over town delivering people to lessons and games, and then have dinner ready when we walk in the door. And it's GOOD. Ha! Love that. Thank you for making me a hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used London Broil and frozen stew vegetables. Came out perfectly. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe. We omitted the carrots and red wine (due to not having either on hand) but this was still a delicious meal. Way to bring in the Fall season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States