Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I wasn't able to start this the night before, so I cooked it for 6 hours on high and it came out perfect! I used beef broth instead of the water, added a few more carrots and potatoes than the recipe called for, and I only added 1/2 an onion (and a small one at that), as I thought it might be a little too "oniony" with a whole onion AND the onion soup mix too. I also added some chopped parsley and a little bit of black pepper. The gravy was kind of thin, so an hour before it was done I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with a little bit of the gravy, stirred it back into the pot and let it cook (on high) the last hour with the lid off. This thickened it up just beautifully! I served it with crusty rolls for sopping up all the gravy. I thought this was really good! When my husband took his first bite of the stew all he said was "Mmmmmmmmmm!", so I guess it was a winner with him too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is one of the best stews my family and I have ever eaten! I made a few changes to this recipe - I used 2 1/4 lbs. of stew meat, and 5 carrots, 4 red potatoes (med. size, w/ skin on), and 4 stalks of celery. I also made a roux of 5 tbsp. flour/5tbsp. butter to thicken the stew, and added a variety of spices for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
There is no need to begin cooking this recipe the night before. I have started this recipe in the morning & it has turned out just as good. Just make certain you have it in the crock pot early enough so it will cook for a minimum of 9 hrs. Pat McKay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Definately let this cook over night. I used sirlion tips instead of stew meat. I left out the mushrooms and celery since my famliy does not like them. I also thinkened it up by taking about a 1/2 cup of the stock out an hour before eating. I let it cool, added two tablespoons cornstarch to that and mixed well and then added back to the stew. It was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great stew!! I began cooking in the morning and cooked 5 hours on high and 4 hours on low. It was ready and delicious! No need to start the night before. The only change I made was using beef broth instead of water for extra flavor! Highly recommend. There is barely any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Very good. I'm not much of a meat eater, but my husband is, so I cut the meat down to 1.5lbs and increased the vegetables to compensate. Like a lot of other reviewers, I added fresh garlic and black pepper, used beef stock (low sodium) in place of water, and added some cornstarch in the last 30 minutes of cooking. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and then low for another 6 hours. The veggies were cooked perfectly and my husband said that the beef was juicy and tender. I'd definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Loved it! Floured and browned the meat prior to cooking. Added parsnip and turnip for additional flavor. The second time I made it I added about a cup of red wine -- more flavor. Absolutely delish and the company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
So good and so easy. I used vegetable broth in place of the water, added extra carrots, a couple of cloves of crushed garlic, and a splash of red wine. I thickened the gravy with flour. I cooked this all day, about 5 hours on high and the last 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This stew is great on a cold winter day! I didn't use fresh mushroom because my family does not like them. I also dredged the meat in flour and browned in olive oil before cooking in the crockpot. I also added a splash of steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriel
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I made this with some spices that came from a "beef stew packet" and left out the soup, so mine came out more like a soup than a stew, but it was delicious none the less. I may try this one again sometime with a closer follow to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States