Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was EXCELLENT!! I followed the recipe ingredients to the T and it was perfect - great flavor, perfect consistency (nice and thick) and all around delicious. HOWEVER, I only had this in the crockpot for 11 hours and it was perfect! The meat fell apart, the veggies were really tender (onions nearly dissolved so don't worry about it seeming too oniony!) I am not sure I would have liked it cooked longer - I think it might be too mushy. I will definitely stick with this beef stew recipe - its fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
OK, pretty typical stew...nothing special! '08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent! We just cooked it overnight -then refrigerated during the next day and reheated on the stove after work (we don't like to leave the slow cooker on when we aren't home). It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent, tasted just like mom's!! I did not add onion because my husband does not like it. The onion soup mix was fine. Used beef broth and a bit of water. Thickened it up at the end with a bit of cornstarch. Next time I may add peas just at the end like mom used to. I added turnip as well as I like it in my stew. This was very easy to make and very comforting on a cold winter day!! I cooked it on high for six hours. Yum yum, I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The flavors in this stew were excellent. I didn't cook it overnight. I accidentally put it on high for 4 hours, then found my error and kept it on low for 4 hours. Perfect! DH raved about it, so it should be 10 star. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Followed the recipe as is and it turned out great. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Took into account all the reviews and my rating is based on the following changes: Used 1/2 an onion instead of a whole onion, added more carrots and celery. Added 1/2 cup of red wine. I browned the flour meat first, then poured the onion soup/broth/mushroom soup mixture over it. Cooked WITHOUT vegetables for 3 hours on low, then added vegetables in for the last 5 hours. The carrots came out just right - putting all the veggies in in the beginning will cause them to be soggy and overcooked. Just before I put the veggies in, I tasted the gravy and it tasted bland. So I added a packet of slow cooker beef stew seasoning - this is what added the kick the stew was missing. Was very skeptical at first but the stew came out beautifully. I also boiled the potatoes separately and threw them in cooked at the end, so they wouldn't absorb too much of the wine/spice flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Please do not make this receipe as it is I made it the way it was shown and the beef was so done it broke all apart in the crock pot and tasted like it was a Dinty Moore stew awful flavor celery was to stong and I tossed it all out. Very sorry I listen to so many reviews that it was so good. Never Again Lm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
The Golden Mushroom soup is key. It's totally different than using plain chicken broth as another user mentioned. I used beef broth instead of water and only half of the dry onion soup mix. Added some extra spices. Added mushrooms in the last 2 hours. Cooked about 8 hours on low. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I used chicken broth instead of mushroom soup. It was okay. My children didn't like it, but I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Melissa
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States