Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I was looking for a lighter crock pot beef stew (without the flour thickened gravy) and this one was really good. I browned the meat first and could not find Golden Onion soup so I used French Onion soup and left out the chopped onions. I left it on low for a full day. It was delicious. Veggies were cooked just right (I was really surprised) and beef was very tender. I'm going to try to find the low sodium version of the canned soup, it was a little saltier than I would usually like but I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by noracarlson
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for... it was delicious. I followed the directions exactly. Only thing I changed was I browned the meat on the stove in some olive oil prior to putting into the slow cooker. Everything else I did the same and I LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noracarlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used low sodium beef broth instead of water, as well as low sodium conden. mushroom soup. A few all spice & bay leaf also. Knorr brand French Onion dry mix is very tasty in this overall wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I couldn't find the golden mushroom soup, so I used condensed onion soup instead and omitted the chopped onion. I added some chopped garlic and ground pepper. Since it's just 2 of us at our house, I used 1 pound of meat and cooked it on high for 6 hours. The meat was tender and the veggies were great (not too mushy). We have a little bit of leftovers, so I'll be having it tomorrow for lunch also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
The dry onion soup mix made it very flavorful. I only had 4 hours to cook which made the beef not as tender as I'd like. Next time I'll increase the time in the crock pot. Otherwise - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Hearty and delicious! I omitted potatoes and added peas. I thickened it by mixing a cup of the stew liquid with three or even a little more tablespoons of flour and then adding it back into the stew. I served the stew over a bed of short grain brown rice. yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was delicious and the meat oooo so tender. I took others advice and used beef broth instead of water and also added a can of corn. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is an awesome base recipe for beef stew. I wouldn't suggest making it with just the ingredients listed in this recipe alone; cause it really didn't have that old fashioned grandma beef stew taste. Instead of using 1 can of Golden Onion Soup, I used about 1 3/4 cans (of the small cans). Instead of using water I used beef broth made from beef bullion cubes. Instead of using regular Onion Soup Mix I used the Golden Onion soup mix. I also added some worcestershire sauce (not sure of the amount just poured some in), adobo (not sure of amount just sprinkled some in). I also added a package of McCormicks Beef Stew seasoning, which I think that is what the stew need to give it the flavor I was looking for. I also added more pepper. I didn't cook the stew overnight, I cooked it on high for about 6 hours and the stew came out fantastic. Like others I added some corn starch at the end to thicken up the sauce alittle bit as well. Both my husband and I loved it. I served with some biscuits on the side. OMG to die for... We are having left overs tonight. Definitely will make it again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northport Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent! I halved the meat and doubled the potatoes and veggies. There is no reason to cook this for as long as the recipe calls for... I cooked on low for 9-10 hours and it was perfect. Much longer and the potatoes and carrots would have been nothing but mush. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
LOVED this stew--so much that so after I lost the recipe, I moved heaven and earth to find it again (long story). Like others, used beef broth and added peas at end. Started @ 10 p.m. and by 3 p.m. next day was begging husband to have dinner NOW because I was taste-testing my way to a meal anyway! My complaint with slow cooker recipes is that the veggies are often undercooked--no problem here. Didn't have celery so I used celery seed, also took a free hand with the spices to make it "ours". You should feel free to do the same as people's tastes vary, but this is an excellent place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States