Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This stew is great on a cold winter day! I didn't use fresh mushroom because my family does not like them. I also dredged the meat in flour and browned in olive oil before cooking in the crockpot. I also added a splash of steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Super Good! I didn't use the crock pot b/c it wasn't big enough for the crowd I had to feed. So I just browned the meat a little in some olive oil, then threw all the ingredients into two big pots on the stove. I brought it to a boil then backed the heat down and left it at a low simmer for a couple of hours. I did use extra on the veggies and beef broth in with the water. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meseasoning

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
It was great - followed other reviewers tips though. Started beef only the night before in the soup mix, canned soup and broth (instead of water). Added potatoes, onions, mushrooms and carrots in the morning and turned to high. An hour before it was done, added a can of peas - no stew is complete without peas!. LEFTOVER IDEA: If you have lots of leftovers, turn it into a potpie the night after with a frozen double crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZRAEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I fixed this meal for my husband and I on Sunday and it was plenty to eat for lunch and supper. I started it in my slow cooker at 12 midnight on Saturday night and cooked it until noon on Sunday. It was perfect. The meat was tender and the veggies were tender, but not mush. I would highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Wow! This was awesome. I used 1 1/2 pounds of stew meat and cooked it for nine hours. I added the vegetables after three. I left out the onion and used beefy onion soup mix. I also used cream of mushroom soup. I substituted one cup of beef broth and half a cup of red wine for the water. I added a little cornstarch in the last half hour. The meat incredibly tender and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was delicious. I floured & browned the meat until golden brown first. The only thing different I did was use Lipton Savory Herb & garlic soup with 2 cups beef broth. I didn't have mushroom soup, but it still came out fine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very good stew but it definately doesn't need to cook as long as it says. I started mine at 10am and we at at 5:30 and it could have cooked a little less than that. But very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Smelled terrible while cooking. The finished product was decent. I had to add some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I put this on the night before at 8:00 p.m. and we ate at 6:30 p.m. the next night. It was fantastic. I followed the directions and some other advice(add more liquid) and I should have followed the recipe exactly and it would have been perfect. By adding more liquid I had to add some flour to thicken the gravy, otherwise it was great and the aroma was nice to come home to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
We loved this recipe. I only added half the meat and increased the potatoes and carrots. Also used cream of celery instead of mushroom, beef broth instead of water, and added fresh garlic. I also thickened it a bit with flour. I started it at 7:00 AM and we ate at 8 PM. Meat was perfect. Wonderful comfort food. I can't wait for lunch as I brought leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennerdell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States