Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
this was so good and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was pretty good. I reduced the water because I like a thick stew. It wasn't as good as my regular stew I make but definately worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very, very good stew. My picky husband loved it and so did the kids. The meat just fell apart. The house smelled so good all night and day. Will definetely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I put less water and cooked about 8 hours (1 hour on high, rest on low) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Added lots of extra carrots, potatoes, mushroom. Since I added the extra vegetables, it meant adding extra water/beef broth and that is why it came out a little thinner than I wanted. Added some cold water w/corn starch and it thickened up beautifully!! With all my extras, I fed 4 people last night, and me and my husband had lunch for today. I say prepare for a little more- if you need to feed 4, make either 5 or 6 servings. I cut a little bit of the meat out (it was too much the 1st time) and used beef broth and water (instead of just water) Cut up some French bread and it was amazing!!! But each to their own in the way they like it. It does not come out too oniony at all, like I could have added more onion!! The onion all disolved and so did most of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This recipe was Awesome. Like a few others I used beef broth instead of water and used cornstarch to thicken up the stew. I also added a few more carrots and potato's..(large family).I also added an extra package of onion soup mix for flavor,due to the extra vegetables .This was very easy and very very tasty.I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great recipe, I did make a few modifications of my own...I did decrease the water, as I thought it would come out too "soupy", Mixed the water and the golden mushroom soup to blend together well, I judged on the amt. of water I used, not really a specific amt. and omitted the dry soup mix as I thought it would be too oniony and/or salty, the 1 onion worked fine, chopped up small. I also added some garlic powder and pepper to my taste. I did not cook overnight, not really necessary unless you want to...cooked on high 4 hours, made a roux to thicken it as I still thought it was too runny, and finished on low 4 more hours. I also did not add the potatoes until last 2 hrs of cooking. Came out great nice and thick, I def. suggest something to thicken this like a roux. I served with flaky buttermilk biscuits...great hearty meal, will definately make again! P.S. I used the leftovers to make a pot pie, it was AWESOME! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good stew. A little watery so I would do like another reviewer said if you want thick stew add a little cornstarch. I left out the onions because with the soup mix I didnt want it to be overpowering, and it came out great. if you like mushrooms use a lot of them because they shrink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My family really likes this recipe, and I like the ease of using a slow cooker and having dinner ready when we get home in the evening. I recommend adding an additional packet of onion soup (total of 2) for more flavor. It's a little bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I started this stew before I went to bed, got up and gave it a stir and went to work. When I got home, I put in a few Tbsp of flour with about 1 cup of water. It thickened beautifully and tasted great. I never thought of cooking a stew for 16 hrs. I was surprised it wasn't mush. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States