Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This was very good... I omitted the mushrooms (hubby doesn't like 'em) and used the beef broth in place of the water. Still found it to be on the bland side, but being as I've never made a stew in my life, it was very good! (salt and pepper helped) (oh, and I cooked it for 10hrs on low, meat was VERY tender!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I cooked this stew for approx. 20 hrs on low and the carrots and potatoes were still on the hard size. Kind of bland too - I should have used beef brothe and also thickened the liquid. A little disappointed overall - maybe will try again making a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I wasn't able to start this the night before, so I cooked it for 6 hours on high and it came out perfect! I used beef broth instead of the water, added a few more carrots and potatoes than the recipe called for, and I only added 1/2 an onion (and a small one at that), as I thought it might be a little too "oniony" with a whole onion AND the onion soup mix too. I also added some chopped parsley and a little bit of black pepper. The gravy was kind of thin, so an hour before it was done I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with a little bit of the gravy, stirred it back into the pot and let it cook (on high) the last hour with the lid off. This thickened it up just beautifully! I served it with crusty rolls for sopping up all the gravy. I thought this was really good! When my husband took his first bite of the stew all he said was "Mmmmmmmmmm!", so I guess it was a winner with him too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I want to thank everyone who tried this recipe of mine.. I've gotten some great indeas from some of your suggestions.. like using beef broth and bay leaves.. I think this is a good basic recipe that you can alter to your own tastes. You can probably start this in the morning, but starting it the night before made life easier for me in the morning, trying to get off to work... especially on a cold winter day... this is our all time favorite comfort meal. Thank you everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Quite good! I used beef broth instead of water and left out the mushrooms as I didn't have any. Cooked it for about 18hrs. I didn't have to add any water. I stirred it and let it cook on high with the lid off for about 20 mins before serving to thicken it a bit. Leftovers were just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was perhaps the best crockpot recipe I've tried. However, I used 1-1/3# buffalo stew meat instead of 3# beef stew and it was excellent! The meat has less fat and less cholesterol. I found that it was done in about 18 hours so we ate early today. I originally liked the idea of having one cook all day so I wouldn't have to get up so early to get it started. I also used beef broth in place of the water. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is one of the best stews my family and I have ever eaten! I made a few changes to this recipe - I used 2 1/4 lbs. of stew meat, and 5 carrots, 4 red potatoes (med. size, w/ skin on), and 4 stalks of celery. I also made a roux of 5 tbsp. flour/5tbsp. butter to thicken the stew, and added a variety of spices for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
My husband said this was "The Best Stew EVER!" - have made it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This was a good basic stew. I did cook it overnight and all the next day. This made my cheap cut of beef very tender. It has a nice "comfort food" kind of quality to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Very good! I made a few "tweaks" to the recipe (esp. using beef broth in place of the water, makes a much richer flavor.) My whole family loved it, even my 18 month old, and that's a feat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States