Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was very good. I omitted the mushrooms(picky kids)and also used half the beef and added more potatoes and carrots. The sauce which I didn't change at all was delicious. We will be having this again... often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Very good. I'm not much of a meat eater, but my husband is, so I cut the meat down to 1.5lbs and increased the vegetables to compensate. Like a lot of other reviewers, I added fresh garlic and black pepper, used beef stock (low sodium) in place of water, and added some cornstarch in the last 30 minutes of cooking. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and then low for another 6 hours. The veggies were cooked perfectly and my husband said that the beef was juicy and tender. I'd definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This stew quickly became a favorite in our house.I just added a bay leaf and freash parsly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Hmmmm, didnt dig this so much. I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
It was an excellent idea to add wine as previously suggested. I also used portobella mushrooms and threw in some parsnips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
So good and so easy. I used vegetable broth in place of the water, added extra carrots, a couple of cloves of crushed garlic, and a splash of red wine. I thickened the gravy with flour. I cooked this all day, about 5 hours on high and the last 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I cooked this one last weekend just after I got home from working nights. I only had lamb stew meat instead of beef so I chucked that in and used salt reduced vegetable stock instead of water for more flavour. I also added a beef stock cube (I forgot that I put in lamb not beef but the end result was still good). Added a decent amount of garlic and italian herb mix (the Gourmet Garden stuff in tubes is great - no chopping!). I also added some parsnips just for the heck of it. I think it cooked for around six hours and it was done to our satisfaction. I think my slow cooker must cook faster than US brands because if I had put this brew on overnight and the next day I think it would have been a bit overcooked. As it was, after six hours on low, it was great. This was my first attempt at a home made soup and I was pretty happy with it. It was a quick and easy meal to prepare and the best thing was it cooked while I was asleep so I didn't have to do anything when I got up. Except for some toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This recipe turns out delicious!It's so easy too..I pretty much just brown the meat first, then put in 1 packet of onion soup, 1 can golden mushroom soup, and then the vegetables I want (usually only carrots and potoates). The amount of water I put varies based on how much room is left in the crock pot. Usually I just fill the soup can up with water and pour it in. I keep in on high or low (depending on when I want dinner to be ready) and just check it by the potatoes. As long as I can cut through them easy with a fork, I know it will come out perfect. This is great plain or over noodles (if more people end up showing up for dinner). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was sooo good great gravy and very tasty!! I added a cup of frozen peas the last 15 mins. to thicken it up. This is a keeper better than my moms beef stew sorry to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is a good stew but the gravy definitely needs thickened before eating. I didn't have the onion soup mix so made my own concoction with beef bouillon, garlic & onion powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States