Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Husbands know beef stew and mine said it was the best I have ever prepared. The only change was tenderized stew meat to replace the regular chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This turned out great! Didn't change too much,used 2 packets of dry onion soup mix instead of one, used 1 can of beef broth instead of water, and used baby bella mushrooms (personal preference). Also only used 2 pounds of meat instead of 3 (three pounds just seemed like alot to me!). And there was no need to thicken it, turned out perfect! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was a great starter for stew. It needed more flavor though. I had to thicken at the end. About an 45 minutes before serving I melted 4 TBLS of butter and slowly added 1/4 cup of flour. Once that was all mixed I slowly added juice from the stew until it was nice and creamy. I slowly added back to the stew. It gave it a great consistency, just like Mom used to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Yum! I began it about 10:30 pm last night and we ate at 5:30 today. Delish! I added some Worcestershire sauce and also added vegetable broth instead of the water. The only problem was, I couldn't sleep much since the wonderful aroma kept me up! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I browned the meat and used beef broth instead of water. Cooked this all day and it came out great. I got wonderful reviews from everyone that tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Pretty good! would give it 4.5 stars if I could. I, too, was unable to start this the night before and honestly glad I didn't. Even on low I would think the veggies would be complete mush after all that time. I started mine on high at 10 am, turned it down to low after 4 hours and the meat was spoon tender by 7pm. With 1 hour to go I added 2 Tbs of corn starch to the stew and let it cook the last hour with the lid off and it thickened up PERFECTLY. I used vegetable broth instead of water and added about 2/3 cup of red wine (cab merlot blend) and 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I was also a little heavy handed with the other veggies as I had stuff to use up. All in all this is a tasty recipe I will definitely make again although I think I may wait to put the veggies in at the half way point next time so they are not sooooooo soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I skipped the mushrooms and added peas. It was fantastic! It couldn't have been any easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfn1225

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Novice cooker, used exact ingredients and cooked for 9 hours on low. Came out great, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The whole family loved this stew! I used beef the first time, then tried it with chicken and it turned out just as well. I added some minced garlic for additional flavor and thickened it up a bit with cornstarch toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Oh my goodness, this is The Best and is SO easy. I used only 1 lb. of meat and we found it was Just the right amount of meat for the 2 of us. I also added a little more veggies then it called for & left the mushrooms out.I cooked for 2Hr's on high & low for less then an hr. It was tender & YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States