Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe is great just the way it is! Wouldn't change a thing and the whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This beef stew was EXCELLENT when prepared EXACTLY as written. I'm sure those people who leave lengthy reviews describing how they tweaked the recipe have the best of intentions, instead of wasting review space, perhaps they should submit their own recipe separately. Unless there is an inherent flaw in the recipe, I think it's rude to rework the recipe - ESPECIALLY if that same person gives it four or five stars! Submit your own recipes and leave these poor people alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Easy, basic, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Loved it. Did some tweaking. I had only about 5 hrs, so I cooked the meat on the stove top before adding to crock pot and cooked on high temperature. Added a little more seasonings but came out great! Will definitely be using this again. My 5 year old suggested rice! Will try it with rice next time! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written, and while it smelled amazing while it was cooking, it turned out really bland. It needed a lot of salt and pepper to make it palatable. I really want to avoid sauteing the meat (what's the point of using a slow cooker if you're going to fry your food first?), but next time I will absolutely try adding some rosemary or some other spices to try and perk up the flavor. I'd also agree with some others that more veggies are needed; the beef to veggie ratio was pretty lopsided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Super easy. I chopped everything up the night before and threw it all in before work. Perfect winter meal to come home to. I might use beef stock instead of broth for a richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yummy beef stew without standing over the stove all day. I do add more celery, carrots and potatoes (personal preference), more beef broth to compensate for the extra ingredients as well as increasing spices. Lots of times I'll even toss in a can of hominy towards the end for hubby. This has been a regular staple at our house since I found this recipe a couple of months ago. If it doesn't have enough spice for ya experiment. Fool proof. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is great! Next time I think I will do a little less meat and more veggies, the ratio is a little off. The only thing I did different was add oregano and rosemary and a little more Worcestershire. As for Corinne's suggestion, she needs to make her own recipe, as it is not this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Great recipe and very easy. I followed the suggestion of using a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce and doubled the amount of garlic. I accidentally made another modification which turned out to be excellent! When adding the black pepper, the top fell off the pepper shaker so i got a TON of pepper in there. I removed what I could but was still afraid it would be ruined. Best cooking accident I've had! It tasted great. I also doubled the amount of potatoes since 3 didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Emerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was bland and not great as is. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States