Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Delicious! Exactly what beef stew should taste like! I made the recipe as is except I omitted celery b/c I don’t like cooked celery and I substituted a sweet potato for one regular potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
adding 1 can of diced tomatoes adds much more flavor to sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
his recipe was not a favourite. I found it pretty bland. I will tweek it up next time as it is a great starting point for the adventurous chefs/cookers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Husband said this was the best stew he's ever tasted. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Absolutely the best beef stew I've ever had. With this great recipe along with @Corinne's tweaks, this turned out perfectly (this was actually the first time I've made beef stew for myself & family). Next time I may omit the McCormick's beef stew seasoning as suggested by Corinne, because I think this recipe has enough flavor on it's own & would like to see the difference without it. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. My family loved it & couldn't get enough! This is the type of stew I'd want to make a double batch of to share with friends & neighbors, it's that good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Park, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I've made this recipe several time and my family request it often. I like it because you can throw all the ingredients in the crockpot and don't have to brown the meat first. Over time, I've added and adjusted ingredients based on the availability of my pantry. One of my favorite substitutes is replacing the beef broth with tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gaby Román
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
One of the easiest slow cooker beef stew recipes I've found and the final product was GREAT! The only two changes I made to the recipe was that 1) I used 3/4 cup beef broth and 3/4 cup red cooking wine and 2) I added mushrooms. I served mine over mashed cauliflower with garlic and butter (a low-carb alternative to mashed potatoes) & it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Román

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Easy enough to get started but the recipe lacked complexity. Easy upgrades without adding stuff to wash in the sink: Add up to 2-4 table spoons of ketchup or even better, tomato paste. Taste for balance. Add 2 tb of sugar. To add oomph to the beef, marinate it for 15-20 min in 2 tb of soy sauce and coat with the flour (as the recipe directs). If you wanna be fancy, add some orange peel and remove after slow cooking. I also would swap out some of the broth with a can of beer instead. =) These steps to me, add a bit of sweetness and acidity to play off the mushy saltiness of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Yeung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Made a nice thick stew that was very easy to prep. It just needs something but I'm not sure what. It just had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
this recipe is so easy. im not a cook, don't like to cook, but I make dinner most every night. I've made this several times and It seems like I can't mess this up. It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States