Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
A little runny - needs some cornstarch or something. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Since I'm not a huge Thyme lover, I subbed my homemade Italian Seasoning. I also don't think just thyme & canned tomato products would make a very tasty sauce. I added beef broth, garlic and worcestshire (ms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Not bad at all. Pretty much followed the recipe, but added a packet of stew seasoning. I think that was a mistake because it was awful salty. I didn't add salt anywhere else. I'm sure the broth added some though. I also added Worcestershire, which added flavor, but probably salt as well. Overall, it's a great "base" recipe that can be tweaked to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was easy and very good! I will definitely make this again. I added beef broth and used italian seasoning instead of thyme. This is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I too am not a big fan of Thyme, so I used Italian Seasoning. I also coated the beef in flour before adding it to the rest of the ingredients, and used pearl onions. I would absolutely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Best beef stew recipe I've made. You can't really taste the Thyme (which I'm not crazy for) and the leftovers are thickened perfectly. I love beef stew and I'm sticking with this recipe. I did use the no salt tomatoes and had to substitute tomato soup (15 oz, not condensed) for the paste. I also used 2.5# of stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Disappointed in this stew. Way too much tomato taste. It tasted more like an italian dish with beef than an actual traditional beef stew. Maybe it needs beef broth or different seasonings... definitely needs less tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Oh man, this turned out so good. i took some other's advice and didn't add thyme. I put in italian seasoning. Also added some potato flakes to thicken it up. Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Fantastic Beef stew. I added in about 2+ cups of beef stock because 1/4 cup of water is not enough water for the amount of food in the slow cooker. Turned out great. This was the best stew we have made so far in our slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very good and simple! Other recipes for beef stew are so complicated and require a fully loaded kitchen. This recipe has limited ingredients but creates a great stew. I added a half a pack of stew seasoning after reading other's reviews to tone down the tomato flavor but avoid the over salty taste. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States