Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
didn't use thyme, and did not use the tomato past. I used 1 can of beef broth, and Italian seasoning. Next time I would like to add some nice red wine to this.....I did add the canned diced tomatoes. Also, at the very end added some leftover peas that we had from the night before for dinner. I would make again, and try the red wine.....so I did tweak it a bit....very good! s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madeleine Froehlich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
the recipe said to cook on low i will cook on high the potatoes,carrots were hard but,the meat was good but, make sure you cook the meat first & add to the slow cooker so you dont get any of the blood in the pot !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverly
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this with elk meat that I browned in flour before adding to crock pot. I used beef stew seasoning instead of thyme. It was really good-even hubbie who is a picky eater liked it. Next time I make it, though, I will omit or reduce amount of tomato paste. We thought it was a little too much tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was very good. I made it as written. What I did was serve it over egg noodles. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It makes for a starter recipe. Agree with the others to add beef broth and other seasonings. Thyme alone and tomatoes just won't cut it. Will use it again but adding potato flakes sounds interesting to help thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
With the addition of another family to my home I was looking for something thrifty, easy and tasty. This does the trick - set it up in the morning and forget it for 8 hrs. I made it per the recipie except that I added beef consume to it. Love it and my grandchildren love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanpetros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This will be my new go-to recipe for beef stew! I added 2 cups beef broth as someone else suggested, italian seasoning instead of the thyme, and sprinkled in some paprika, garlic salt and black pepper. The ratio of meat to veggies was perfect, and loved the tomato base flavor that the tomatoes and paste added. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
The flavor was great. I put in Italian seasoning as suggested to give it a more balanced flavor. The only thing I didn't like was the aesthetics that were compromised by using a slow cooker 100% (that is that the meat gives off a foam and then leaves grayish little globs in the stew).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
not very flavorful in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very good and simple! Other recipes for beef stew are so complicated and require a fully loaded kitchen. This recipe has limited ingredients but creates a great stew. I added a half a pack of stew seasoning after reading other's reviews to tone down the tomato flavor but avoid the over salty taste. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States