Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! I cooked a 5 lb. angus beef roast in the crockpot. I seasoned it well with garlic and fresh pepper than cooked/browned all sides in a pan with olive oil. It cooked on low in the crockpot for 6 hrs with NO VEGES. My family loves mashed potatoes with roast. I used 1/2 c. of wistershire sauce, 1/2 c. Sweet Baby Ray's Original plus 1/2 c. water. The meat was tender, juicy, and full of flavor. It turned out delish!! I can't stop picking at the meat and dinner was over 2 hrs ago. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Bernhardt Zigo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pedricktown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I think those who didn't like the veggies need to realize they are really only there to add flavor, like when you make chicken broth. IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MEAT! However I mashed down the veggies before serving, added 1 cup of potato water (from the mashed potatoes I was making, my mom's kitchen tip when making gravies) and thickened it to make gravy. YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this was awesome although I substituted A-1 marinade for the BarBQ sauce. Just fell apart at the end of the day and sweet as could be. Served with mashed poatoes and peas. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Couldn't be easier. The use of BBQ sauce is a nice change from the more commonly used onion or mushroom soups. We're on a low-sodium diet, so I watered down the worcestershire sauce using 1/2 water and 1/2 sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I loved the flavor of the meat!! However I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the veggies did not taste very well!! I will make it again minus the veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRETTSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So tasty! I loved the worchestire taste the beef picked up! This is the first slow cooker roast that my boyfriend has approved of. I minused the veggies as we like mashed potatoes with roast and sprinkled the roast with a little onion & chili powder. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The meat was so juicy and tender. The carrots and celery had a very nice smokey flavor to them, which I had never experienced, but loved! Am definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Despite the unappetizing picture accompanying the recipe, this turned out delicious. I had a bottom round and no clue what to do with it. I was skeptical about such a simple recipe - but I lacked ingredients for other recipes. I just put the beef and some potatoes and red onion, in the crock pot (after browning the beef), added the two sauces and left it on low for 10+ hours. Everyone loved it. I especially liked that it had a bit of a kick! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was okay and I had all of the ingredients on hand. I’m not certain that the bbq sauce was necessary. It didn’t seem to add to the taste. Overall the meat was flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
this was terrible. Every thing tasted the same-all b.b.q It would have been o.k. if only the meat had the b.b.q. taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States