Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I really did not enjoy this at all. My husband did, however. We substituted soy sauce for Worcestershire sauce, but I don't think that was a huge difference. All of the veggies ended up tasting like the sauce, like they were drenched. The meat was fine, but I think the same level could be achieved with a different recipe that leaves the veggies tasting nice. I thought the sauce tasted best with the egg noodles I made to go with it, but that is the part my husband didn't like. I doubt we will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Wow this is awesome and super simple. I made some modifications. I pan seared the meat first, used half a bottle of dark beer instead of worcestershire sauce, and omitted the celery. It was the best roast ever. Next time I'll add even more onions as they tasted like french onion soup onions, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
VERY Easy and super simple but it was delicious. I found the BBQ sauce and worcestershire sauce were a good combination and neither one overpowered the other. I made it over rice as suggested and made (haha boiled more like it!) fresh sweet corn on the cob, and it was a great compliment to the gravy from the bottom of the crock pot poured over rice. The roast was perfectly cooked. I was unsure what shpinky meant by "chopped" carrots and celery but I chopped them down to small bite sized peices about the size of half a penny. Enough so that they would still flow fairly easily out of the gravy boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very good! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very tender and good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
So simple and easy used what I had and it turned out perfect My husband would have given it a ten!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
this was terrible. Every thing tasted the same-all b.b.q It would have been o.k. if only the meat had the b.b.q. taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love making this on a busy day. Throw all the ingredients in the slow cooker in the morning and sit down to a nice homemade dinner in the evening!It always comes out tender and juicy.(It's also a nice change from a regular roast beef recipe.) It has a really nice smokey yet mild bbq taste to it. The sauce was especially good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrascoMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The meat was so juicy and tender. The carrots and celery had a very nice smokey flavor to them, which I had never experienced, but loved! Am definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this was awesome although I substituted A-1 marinade for the BarBQ sauce. Just fell apart at the end of the day and sweet as could be. Served with mashed poatoes and peas. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States