Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I think those who didn't like the veggies need to realize they are really only there to add flavor, like when you make chicken broth. IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MEAT! However I mashed down the veggies before serving, added 1 cup of potato water (from the mashed potatoes I was making, my mom's kitchen tip when making gravies) and thickened it to make gravy. YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very good! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love making this on a busy day. Throw all the ingredients in the slow cooker in the morning and sit down to a nice homemade dinner in the evening!It always comes out tender and juicy.(It's also a nice change from a regular roast beef recipe.) It has a really nice smokey yet mild bbq taste to it. The sauce was especially good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrascoMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
VERY Easy and super simple but it was delicious. I found the BBQ sauce and worcestershire sauce were a good combination and neither one overpowered the other. I made it over rice as suggested and made (haha boiled more like it!) fresh sweet corn on the cob, and it was a great compliment to the gravy from the bottom of the crock pot poured over rice. The roast was perfectly cooked. I was unsure what shpinky meant by "chopped" carrots and celery but I chopped them down to small bite sized peices about the size of half a penny. Enough so that they would still flow fairly easily out of the gravy boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The meat was so juicy and tender. The carrots and celery had a very nice smokey flavor to them, which I had never experienced, but loved! Am definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this was awesome although I substituted A-1 marinade for the BarBQ sauce. Just fell apart at the end of the day and sweet as could be. Served with mashed poatoes and peas. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
So simple and easy used what I had and it turned out perfect My husband would have given it a ten!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Wow this is awesome and super simple. I made some modifications. I pan seared the meat first, used half a bottle of dark beer instead of worcestershire sauce, and omitted the celery. It was the best roast ever. Next time I'll add even more onions as they tasted like french onion soup onions, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! I cooked a 5 lb. angus beef roast in the crockpot. I seasoned it well with garlic and fresh pepper than cooked/browned all sides in a pan with olive oil. It cooked on low in the crockpot for 6 hrs with NO VEGES. My family loves mashed potatoes with roast. I used 1/2 c. of wistershire sauce, 1/2 c. Sweet Baby Ray's Original plus 1/2 c. water. The meat was tender, juicy, and full of flavor. It turned out delish!! I can't stop picking at the meat and dinner was over 2 hrs ago. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Bernhardt Zigo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pedricktown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very tasty! The BBQ and Worcestershire sauce make a unique, sweet and tangy sauce. A nice twist to the traditional tomato-based roast I usually make. I omitted the celery and used potatoes and it worked very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States