Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is the second meal for this fine recipe. Lacking some of the ingredients , and to far to run to the store, i did some substitution. I used beef stock instead of chicken and tomato sauce instead of paste, increased the flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Just OK, I didn't notice any difference in flavor from when I would just salt and pepper the meat and throw in some carrots. Actually, I thought the celery just doesn't belong with roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I wasn't able to find a bone in roast so I used chuck roast. Otherwise I left everything exactly as directed and served with mashed potatoes. Everyone, including my 2 children with special needs who only like peanut butter, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was AWESOME! Embarrassingly enough, I have never made any kind of entree in a crockpot, let alone a pot roast. I am a terrible cook and thought for sure I'd mess this one up but I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out fabulous. Easy and relatively quick to prepare. I opted not to add potatoes as many suggested and instead made garlic mashed potatoes. Such a good & hearty meal. The only thing I'd change is adding more carrots and celery next time but that's just a matter of personal taste. Definitely try this one! It will be going in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Have made many chuck roast or pot roast like at least 60 in a crock pot. First I some time brown it with no flour and it and still comes out great with different spices like bay leaf I have used different ways of making it like with cream of mushroom soup, onion soup mix, Better than Bouillon, also added red wine to make it really tender of course Vegies and potatoes It is all done by matter of flavor u went but taste it when it goes in crock pot. Mine is about 8 hours for this is tough piece of meat and then I just stir it with flour in crock pot with everything in it and thickens up fast and comes out excellent. Just play around with it. But I would never think of using ranch or Italian dressing mix for this roast and like one person said to salty in another recipe of course it would be. Have fun and enjoy. I sometime compare recipes from other sites and then make my own Chuck Roast. Sorry no picture. This recipe is close to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I usually make pot roast in a cooking bag, but tried this recipe for a change. We were delighted with the tenderness of the pot roast, and it made a nice gravy after I removed all the yum-yums once the meat had been removed. I added cut-up potatoes with about 90 minutes left to make sure they were done and that worked out well. The cooked-down celery made a great topping over the meat after carving it. Next time I think I'll try beef stock vs chicken stock, just to see of it's any better. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is the third time I have made this recipe. It is by far the best pot roast recipe I have ever made. Full of flavour and the gravy is great over mashed potatoes. I agree that searing the beef is key. The tomato paste adds that little something and sautéing the onion garlic and mushrooms adds a lot of flavour. I also sautéed the celery. This is a permanent part of my recipe box. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Delicious. My whole family loves this recipe made as is, with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Gray Maxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I love this recipe!!! I make it at least twice a month and it's makes too much for my fiancé and I so I usually freeze half. So we end up actually having it 4 times a month!! I serve mine over white rice and add more carrots and celery because I like a lot. I also add little potatos. I don't like rosemary or thyme so I've never had it with this but after a few takes I noticed it needs to be seasoned a lot with salt and pepper. Overall it's an amazing recipe and a must try for all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe on its own or as a starting point for modification. I chose an extremely lean beef pot roast and ended up needing more broth as it cooked. I also added potatoes. What ended up coming out was pot roast with a touch of stew-like quality. Definitely an amazing meal for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States