Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Delicious and easy. Very tasty and meat was sooo tender. A keeper!! Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Made this in the morning and turned it on for 7 hours at work. I used a boneless pork shoulder (on sale) and it turned out great! Instead of salt and pepper and herbs, I used a house sweet BBQ dry rub, and pasta sauce rather than tomato paste. When cooked, the pork pulled away so nicely and the sauce was great. Next time, I would try putting the carrots and celery in halfway through cook time, as they were a little soft to my liking :) made for great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aikennot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodluvr7
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Super good!! Took 6-8 hours to slowcook for extra tender, fall-off-the-bone goodiness! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This has become my go-to recipe for pot roast. Since I normally do roasts around 2-1/2 lb., but use the full sauce recipe, I have to thicken it with cornstarch after removing the roast to make the gravy (and add some Gravy Master, my secret ingredient). I use powdered spice rather than fresh - no problem. The one significant change I make is to use sherry (real sherry, not cooking sherry, which is too salty) as a substitute for part of the chicken broth; I much prefer this flavor to the results from using red wine. Add the garlic; you'll get a burst of garlic smell which subsides after a bit as it blends; add the sherry as the first liquid, and you'll get the same effect - a burst of sherry smell which subsides as it cooks in. Then add the chicken broth. If I'm lazy, I put potatoes and carrots in the cooker before the roast, with a bit more chicken broth as a starter, and cook them all; sometimes I'll dice an onion into the vegetables to add to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I've been cooking pot roast for years. My recipe when I was working. Laughed at Chef's comment. Throwing everything in the slow cooker and let it cook, "well that just.. stupid." Though it always worked and was good, this recipe is delicious. It is more time consuming but worth every savory morsal. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried. Next time fresh just to see the difference. Use a chuck roast since the store didn't have any bone in. Everything remained as written. My friend said he could smell it from the garage. Made homemade Mashed Red Potatoes & the gravy was full of flavor. It's a keeper for sure. Thanks Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Galgarrick
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I made it Sunday, it was delicious - very tender. I think searing is key. Served it over wide egg noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galgarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Feliz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I love Roast Beef, my family loves Roast Beef I grew up eating home cooked Roast Beef 3-4 time every month sometimes even more often. I've eaten Roast Beef at many restaurants (I think you get the point I love a good roast). This is a fantastic Roast Beef recipe and even rivals my Granny's famous Roast Beef(we have over 50 people on that side of the family and they all love it). It is easy to prep and taste just fantastic. I love the added tomato paste and the chicken broth which he recommends. The juices of the meat add to the chicken flavor giving the gravy a lighter, but more dynamic flavor that is definitely worth a try. I do everything he recommend except I get what ever good quality chuck roast is available and it always comes out perfect. Good luck and enjoy. Thank You for the sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very good, easy, good flavor. Used only 2.5 lb pot roast and had plenty of gravy left. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is sooooo delicious and quick and easy to prep I would recommend this to everyone. My husband loves this dish the meat and everything combined is so tender and tasty. The one thing is if you're not a fan of the herbs all over your dish you might want to put them in a cheese cloth. Otherwise I made it as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
absolutely amazing! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States