Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Watch the video- it's very informative. I use a large bone in chuck roast. You must brown it and get a good crust on it before adding to the crockpot. Then the caramelized onions and mushrooms are what make the dish. The whole thing comes together beautifully and is nothing like those horrible pot roast recipes where they throw everything into the crockpot raw. I serve this over mash potatoes and it is always a winner with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Chef John you've outdone yourself with this one. Absolutely amazing and tender pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Really very good recipe. Used beef broth instead of chicken broth, and dried herbs instead of fresh... And boneless rather than bone in... Its still was fantastic! The prep is very important... Makes all the difference I believe. Thx for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Make it for my family they think it is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Husband said he could have eaten the entire thing himself. Works really well with any type of root vegetable and the mushroom sauce on top is key to flavor. Seasoned the beef but did not rub it with flour and I think that gave a better sear. Cooked in Slow-cooker on low for about 10 hours because neither of us could have made it home from work sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious!! Except more celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I don't usually like slow cooker recipes, but this one was excellent. Loved the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I though this turned out well. I didn't even have the mushrooms or celery and it was still fine. When it was done, I removed the beef. Then, I poured the liquid in a gravy separator which I then strained. The liquid was between and au jus and a thin gravy. It worked well with the meat and potatoes. I also really liked the carrots, wish it had a little more of them. I also liked that it wasn't as salty as using packaged seasonings or canned soups like so many pot roast recipes utilize today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was very good. Made as directed with the addition of extra herbs towards the end and put potatoes in during the last 1 hr 1/2. I happened to make it on a night of a huge winter storm here and THE only piece of meat left in the store was 3.5lb top roast. I HATE carrots. These are excellent in the slow cooker for hours in the gravy. Melt in your mouth good, so if you have kids who won't eat their carrots, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Amazing, I had substituted tomato paste for A-1 & mushrooms for green pepper, added red wine, potatoes, green onions and shallots to the regular onions for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States