Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I was expecting great things from this recipe due to the rave reviews. I made it as a special meal for my husband when he returned from a business trip. I was disappointed. While this recipe was okay, it wasn't amazing. Yes, the meat was tender, but flavor was lacking. The only change I made was using beef broth instead of chicken broth (based upon comments) and a smaller sized roast (2 lbs). I have made better pot roasts than the one from this recipe. And, everyone knows to brown the meat before adding to the crock pot for added flavor. The gravy was too thin to serve over egg noodles. It really needed potatoes. I have a good palate and this was only okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
As I stated before, this is the BEST POT ROAST EVER! The only things I changed were: put a bag in my crock for easy cleaning, couldn't find a 5 lber roast so I did 2.5 lb w/bone because I think the bone adds something special and good. Also a 2.5ish boneless. I like the flour idea during searing. After the loving in the crock on high for about 5 hrs, I skimmed the fat and held back some "crock broth"(1/4 cupish) let that cool and added about 2 TBLSP of flour and mixed. Then, added that to to simmering deliciousness for a gravy. Thanks Chef John for an another AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Awesome! Made it with a venison roast and dried rosemary because that's what I had. This is my new pot roast recipe! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I absolutely loved this! It was so easy, and came out even better than I thought. The meat was so tender, and the carrots were very flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, and also served it with mashed potatoes. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lseablom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason Brickell
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great recipe. I used a 5 pound chuck roast and seared on "all" sides. I used a 6.5 qt slow cooker. If using less than a 6 qt slow cooker you might want to use a smaller roast as 5 lb is perfect for a 6 qt. I altered the recipe by adding twice the amount of carrots and celery. I also added more mushrooms. I added a bag of baby red potatoes (with the skin on) for the full duration. I used beef broth instead of chicken broth ( 1 and 34 cup beef broth + 34 cup red wine is the most ideal). I did not add flour to the sauce as the recipe calls for, i only added the initial flour to the roast before searing. Very important, cook on LOW for 8 - 9 hours, not on high for 6 hours. 8 - 9 hours on low will give you a very tender juicy roast, high for 6 hours will give you a dry and tough roast. I have made this recipe a few times with minor tweeks and the above is the best way imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We liked the taste of this roast. But this is not a 'quick and easy' crockpot recipe. The preparations took me at least half an hour, maybe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Great! 6 hours and added brussel sproats after cooking for a couple hours. Perfect meal for the family or couple when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I've made a lot of mediocre pot roasts over the years. My family doesn't get excited about them. This pot roast surprised my husband - "this is DELICIOUS," he announced, and my picky son ate his, too. There is a trade off - what I like about slow-cooking is the idea that one can "throw everything in and forget it" - and this recipe is front loaded with a little time and effort. The end result, though, is superior to other slow-cooker pot roasts and therefore worth it in my opinion. (Regarding variations - I did add some marsala wine while I cooked the mushrooms as they were becoming dry. Other than that, no changes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This recipe was great! Family loved it. I had to use dried seasonings. I used the petite carrots in the bag. Browning the meat I think made a huge difference in the final product - I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So delicious... Made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it. Thank You Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States