Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made it for my family for Christmas yesterday and everyone loved it! I used a five pound boneless rump roast because that was all that was available at the store and it still turned out great. Instead of chicken broth i used a can of french onion soup with some beef broth and since i didnt have tomato paste (turns out the one i had i thought was good had expired lol) i used ketchup. i also put a few more carrots and celary in because the family likes veggies. The carrots are melt in your mouth soft and it was a super easy recipe. Great for christmas when you dont want to run back and forth from the kitchen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. I used a 3lb. eye of round roast and cooked it for 3 hours, which was great for the roast, but not as flavorful as I would have hoped. Per other's suggestions, I turned the juices into gravy (adding flour), and served it over egg noodles with a side of mashed potatoes. Really good meal, but needed something more- maybe just salt and pepper. I'll try the recipe again and try to improve it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Delicious! I made this just as directed except probably more mushrooms and a little more onion than called for. 300° in the oven (covered in an oval roaster) for about 5 hours and it turned out great. I removed all the veggies and liquid and put in a pot with about ¼ cup heavy cream and 2 tbls flour brought to a boil and thickened up nicely. I shredded some of the beef and put it atop a small bed of egg noodles then topped with the thick sauce. Marvelous end result and well worth the effort. I have a lot more shredded meat leftover than sauce but I'll probably save that for something else. Oh and instead of chicken broth in the recipe I used vegetable broth. As a small note, this did not end up with a celery flavor which was a plus for me since I'm not a big fan of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was one of the best pot roasts I ever made. The meat was so tender and flavorful, but the best part of the meal were the carrots. I served those as a side dish and even though I don't particularly like carrots, I found them to be irresistible! Thanks for this wonderful recipe which is sure to be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I don't know why I bothered looking at the one 3 star review I saw saying that chuck roast comes out too fatty... I used 7-bone pot roast just like the recipe said and it turned out perfect. Flour and all. This recipe is amazing. I love using my slow cooker... its so easy and so tasty! Chef John's recipes have never failed me. If only he had more slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Unfortunately I wasn't all that impressed with the dish even though I not only followed the instructions but when I found it lacking in taste I added some more herbs. Also the gravy was thin. I did however enjoy it the following day when I added more veg and thickened the gravy. I did expect more taste especially after taking the time to brown etc on the stove first. It is so interesting to read other reviews and then have expectations not met.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Flavor was good. Roasts in the slow cooker are always overcooked so I took it out an hour early. It wasn't tender at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was a big hit! I used my dutch oven to sear it for five minutes each side and put in the oven. I used half chicken broth and half sweet vermouth which made a very good gravy. The meat was tender and moist. I am doing this recipe again tonight only I will try it in the crock pot on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Liked this recipe ok, but definitely not on the top of our favorite roast recipes. Everyone liked it, everyone ate it but said they liked some of our others better. Was a little herby tasting maybe I used too much but it was certainly tender and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States