Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe on its own or as a starting point for modification. I chose an extremely lean beef pot roast and ended up needing more broth as it cooked. I also added potatoes. What ended up coming out was pot roast with a touch of stew-like quality. Definitely an amazing meal for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
IT WAS DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was very good. Followed the recipe other than only using one 14.5 oz can of chicken broth instead of 2.5 cups and also only had dry rosemary and thyme on hand. I used a boneless roast instead of the bone-in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Loved this recipe, and have made it at least 12 times so far, and after trying to make it better i've done good things and not so good things. First, heavily season the meat before the sear, try using larger chunks of salt if you can. 2nd, Use peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, gives you a better sear, and tastes better in the final product. 3rd, add additional salt, you can try different things, i add about a tablespoon of soy sauce, but its up to you. Do not add more than 1 tablespoon of tomato paste, this will make the roast taste sweet, and the meat will flop apart. make sure the meat stays in the slow cooker for the full time frame, even if you do get a boneless chuck roast, and always de-fat the roast before serving. This last thing is just something i've noticed, try to use a smaller pan for the sear, I use a 10", helps hold in the moisture as the heat drops less when the meat is added (you'll notice less bleeding in the pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Good recipe, loved the result. I made a one change. The use of chicken stock puzzled me. I used beef stock instead. Also, my mushroom of choice is crimini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe as I LOVE all of Chef John's recipes!! I always add to my recipes, just because that's who I am LOL.. anyway, used a 6 lb boneless "English Roast" cause that is all I had on hand, added 1-1/2 cups of red wine to deglaze pan after I added the tomato paste (a bit more than called for), added way more carrots, mushrooms and garlic (cause I have a big eatin family), added "quartered" red potatoes about 1-1/2 hrs prior to turning the crock pot off (because I was lazy and didn't feel like making mashed). I turned crock pot on lowest setting and cooked all day YUM YUM!! Also, no fresh spices that day so I used dry. I am not a lover of THYME, so I will leave that out next time haha(PERSONAL CHOICE!!!). Also I always add more spice than recipes call for, just because we like a LOT of spice!! Next day, served dish with spetzle and OMG was it GOOOOOOD! Thanks Chef John for another GREAT RECIPE! LOVE YOU MUCH :) and Bon Appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
this is fantastic. truly a great dish to enjoy on a cold winter night. i added a bit of lemon zest for that extra "oumf" of flavor. not overpowering. if i could, i would eat this everyday. good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Served this for company. It was fine, but didn't stand out enough for me to plan to make again. Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tremendous, but rather fatty. I made as written, except with dried herbs, and it was very tasty but not particularly good for you :). The broth made for an amazing soup the next day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States