Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
The best!! Didn't have the herbs it called for so I winged it but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Chef John is amazing. This recipe was very good. My husband, however, had purchased a bottom roast (ugh) -- not a chuck roast -- (cue: ridiculous argument about receipes and meat) -- so, anyway. . . I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but, it came out better than I thought. I did cook it on slow, though. Once you get all the ingredients in the slow cooker, the gravy smell [while cooking] is literally intoxicating. Plus, I love this recipe because it doesn't use any dry soup mix, and the mushrooms, really, the mushrooms, add such a savory taste. I would even add more mushrooms next time. Absolutely delicious. Also, I used dried thyme and dried rosemary, I eyeballed those to about 1 - 1.5 teas each, respectively. And, I thought my prep time was more than 20 minutes, but again, I had to sear all sides of the bottom roast. I will say, do yourself a favor and get a fresh loaf of french crusty bread b/c believe me, you will want to soak up as much of this gravy as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Richards
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This recipe is really great. It is definitely the best I have tried for Pot Roast, great taste. I also added red potatoes, but did not add carrots, celery and potatoes until the last 4 hours of cooking in the Crock Pot. They were perfect, not soggy. Served it with a loaf of fresh French Bread used to dip into the yummy sauce that is made from the roast and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe has become a cold weather staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Roast was great! Our family likes the oniony/brown gravy type to go with it better than this juicy sauce. I realized I could have thrown some corn starch or flour to thicken but just didn't that day. Put some potatoes in on the top of roast for the last hour. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe was great. I gave it a 4 only because it needs twice the vegetables and I added three medium size potatos. Yes, I will definately prepare this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've made roasts a gazillion times and this one far surpassed them all!!! Wow! Followed the recipe exactly, served with mashed taters. The gravy is to die for!!! Thanks for an amazing meal, gonna be enjoying this for the rest of my days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I normally do not like Slow Cooker Beef but I have to say this was quite good, only thing I added was new baby potatoes, which are always a hit on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, both times its turned out fantastic! Second time I made a few tweeks based on other reviews. I used a 3.13 pound boneless roast (for 2 people with leftovers) and seared it until almost burnt on both sides, ie got nice dark coloring and a nice crust on the roast. Only additions/changes I did were: I quartered Yukon Gold potatoes (like 6-8 potatoes) and put them in with the celery and carrots at the bottom of the pot. I put the roast right from the searing pan into the crock pot on top of the veggies and let it rest in there instead. I used Beef Broth instead of Chicken Broth and got a great rich flavor and I added 1 Tablespoon Low Sodium Worcestershire to the mushroom/onion/broth mixture and let simmer before I poured over the meat. It smelled great when I walked in the door and made a great dinner (and leftovers) on a cold October night after work! Highly recommend!!!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States