Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Fantastic. I added turnips but other than that would not change a thing! If you like roast on the medium rare side I would decrease the time to 4 - 4 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was easy and delicious. It smelled awesome while it was cooking. Next time I will add more veggies because there was a lot of meat. My family enjoyed it. Keep the recipes coming Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
OMG! I'm not a beef eater usually, but my roommate is, so I bought a blade roast on sale. I followed the recipe, only substituting the chicken broth for vegetable broth (it's all I had on hand), and it turned out perfectly. I made a plate up for my neighbour who was feeling ill, and I got a voice message from her saying only this: 'YUM,YUM,YUM,YUM,YUM,YUM...!' I served garlic mashed potatoes with the gravy and it was delicious. The browning of the meat made all the difference, I think. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The key was definitely in searing the meat. Best pot roast I have done so far, amazingly tender meat and vegetables. I will definitely make it again. Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was my first attempt at making pot roast and it was perfection over mashed potatoes! I couldn't find a bone-in chuck roast so I used boneless and it was fantastic. My boyfriend said it may be his favorite meal ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this today and it was delicious. The delicious smell tempted us all day while it cooked. I cut up my meat (a nice slab of chuck roast) and seasoned it with all the seasonings in the recipe plus powdered onion and garlic since I hate the texture of the "real" things in my mouth. It was so good that I forgot to take a picture! So mine is of the tiny bit of leftovers in a plastic container :) so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Werner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivette Jimenez
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Absolutely amazing--finger licking good. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivette Jimenez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runnergirl
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Thank you for a lovely change to my boring pot roast recipe. I used a large London Broil and cooked some small organic potatoes separately in a light chicken broth. Since my roast was only 3 lbs, I had room to add them at the end. Meat has become so expensive, and being a fitness nut, my kids love when I add potatoes to anything. It helped stretch my budget. But loving the mushrooms. (I also pulled the meat apart when it was done. Keeps the meat with the meal. Another budget stretching trick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My first time making beef pot roast. I have decided to add potatoes along with a touch of fish sauce for deeper tasting. It is soooooo gooooood. I will make it again. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Growing up, pot roast was a Sunday dinner staple. It always smelled delicious, but it really didn't taste like much of anything. So, for years I was anti pot roast!! I stumbled upon this recipe a couple of years ago and now this is in our regular dinner rotation. I make this recipe completely as written and would not change a thing. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States