Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Just made this tonight for supper, and it was very bland. I followed the recipe, no changes. I read the other reviews before I made this, but I always try to follow the recipe the first time. If I make this again, I would add the barley closer to the end (like other reviewers have suggested), add white or yellow onion, and other spices as well (more garlic, fennel, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent recipe. Simple and cheap! My toddlers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
The parsley adds a unique kick to the combination of beef and barley. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Raguckas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is a decent base recipe. I have a smaller slow cooker than what this recipe was intended for so I couldn't use the recommended amount of liquid. I used around 3 stalks of celery because 4 seemed overkill. I would use all beef broth or a combo of beef & chicken broth next time as the water leaves it too flavorless. Aside from that, I added in 2 cans of diced potatoes, 2 cans of green beans, and 2 cans of peas. I used 2 lbs of cube steak and it was the perfect amount of meat. I was trying to replicate that Campbell's beef vegetable soup. This was very close. The only issue I had was that it seems to lack a true savory flavor, other wise it was good. Also, I used Pearl Barley and let it cook for 6-7 hours and it turned out fine, not mushy at all. It seems like the fast cooking barley many other use requires you to add it in last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Titian
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is a good base. Like others, I tweaked it by using fresh garlic, yellow onion, bay leaf and some burgundy cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Titian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
O.K. without modification but lacks any kind of flavor. We are going to try again using all beef broth, and delay adding in the barley so it's not overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Westlake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this soup recently on a nice cold day. I followed the recipe exactly but it needed more salt and pepper for my taste. I used one cup of barley and it was just the right amount. The only thing is the second day. Soup really got very thick and I had to add more beef broth. Otherwise, the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I really loved this soup the only thing I did different is I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder to the soup it's self while cooking and I switch out the green onions for 1 leek I also only cooked it for 5 hours on high. it was so yummy I'll be making this over and over yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was great! I wasn't sure about the green onions (I usually use yellow onions) but it turned out really good. Not sure if it's really necessary to brown the beef. I used 3/4 cup of barley and didn't use as much celery and carrots as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Not half bad! Need to try it with venison or moose and perhaps toss in a soup bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States