Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
O.K. without modification but lacks any kind of flavor. We are going to try again using all beef broth, and delay adding in the barley so it's not overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Westlake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this soup recently on a nice cold day. I followed the recipe exactly but it needed more salt and pepper for my taste. I used one cup of barley and it was just the right amount. The only thing is the second day. Soup really got very thick and I had to add more beef broth. Otherwise, the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I really loved this soup the only thing I did different is I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder to the soup it's self while cooking and I switch out the green onions for 1 leek I also only cooked it for 5 hours on high. it was so yummy I'll be making this over and over yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was great! I wasn't sure about the green onions (I usually use yellow onions) but it turned out really good. Not sure if it's really necessary to brown the beef. I used 3/4 cup of barley and didn't use as much celery and carrots as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Not half bad! Need to try it with venison or moose and perhaps toss in a soup bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Have made this several times now. Make a few simple changes for an awesome soup. Use all beef broth for the liquid - no water, add the pearl barley the last 2 hours of cooking time. The soup is very thick the next day. My husband and I and other family found this very tasty and just the kind of soup to warm you up on a cold winter's day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Love the soup, used beef and chicken broth instead of water also added sliced baby Bella's. I cut back on the barley it still soaked up most of the juice added x-tra garlic, rosemary, thyme. Great dish Thanks, Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this yesterday and my family really enjoyed it! The meat was so tender! I did follow the advice to add the barley with about 2 hours left, and I turned the cooker to high for it. Definitely will be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
good soup, just needs more seasoning on meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Blab but easy. Good base for more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States