Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My husband and I loved this soup. I did however make some minor changes. First, I added one beef soup bone, I find that this always helps add more flavor to any soup. Second I used 2 cups of water, 2 cups of beef broth, and 2 cups of chicken broth to balance the flavors. Also, I added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Last, I only used 1/2 a cup of barley and I added the barley 2hrs. before serving it. The first time I made this soup I added the barley in the beginning the barley ended up mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I made this for dinner last night and it was great, except for one thing. When I browned the stew meat in the oil the recipe said "add a little water to the skillet and stir to pick up the browned bits." I did that but my soup turned out WAY too greasy, next time I would just use the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
We really enjoyed this soup on a cold rainy day in winter...but....slow cooked beef combined with the barley did something ....um..cleansing to our systems! So I caution anyone with digestive problems to be aware of this. It was very delicious, that's for sure, but it's become a bit of a comedy thing around here when I threaten to make the crock pot beef barley soup! :-) Perhaps next time I'll make it without the beef, and add cold roast beef at the end of the cooking...that should be ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Great basics. Used all beef broth, added carrots, used 3 large yellow onions, real garlic, more spices. It was still bland at the end, but I found the secret....added some fennel seed for the last half hour....perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
A nice budget friendly, easy soup for a cool winter day. I only had quick cooking barley, so I added it in the last 30 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
very good. You should give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used chopped white onion, instead of the green onion. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Great way to used leftover pot roast, steak, etc.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
I found this soup to be to plain tasting for my family, It was easy enough and turned out fine, looked good, but there was just no flavor to it. I would recomend adding alittle something more to it, I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
YUM! This is delicious. I used regular onion instead of green onion and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is such an easy recipe! I've made it with the beef and without and it's just as good. I did adjust the seasonings a bit to my taste but that's the only change I made. I'm looking forward to making it more often this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States