Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I cooked this on the stovetop & I used leftover, cubed t-bone steaks (cooked to MED) so I just gave my veggies a quick saute & then added the beef, broths & spices. I only had about 3/4 cup of beef broth & another cup of chicken so I combined those & added enough vegetable broth ( a very rich homemade broth) to make up the difference & then used another 2 cups or so instead of water. I added minced garlic, a couple of bay leaves, worcestershire & about a tbp of beef base. I also cut the barley back to a little more than half. Wonderful soup that was full of flavor....thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was pretty good with some modifications. I reduced the water by 3 cups, because I wanted a more stew like consistancy. Used fresh garlic instead of powder, as that is what I had on hand. Omitted the cererly, (didn't have any) Also added a can of corn and fennel seeds per other reviewers suggestions. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
How lovely to come home from work to a house redolent of this soup cooking all day and even better eating it with a piece of hearty whole grain sour dough bread! It's a winner for ease of preparation and flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I followed this recipe to a T and it's very good! The only suggestions I have are that I would use at least 2lbs. of beef. And don't buy "stew meat" - use a sirloin or roast and cube it. The meat is so tender and just melts in your mouth. I also added a few more carrots. I wouldn't call it bland, but it could use a few more spices, maybe just a bit more garlic & pepper. Everybody loves it, it's good for you and it's perfect for the fall & winter. YUUUUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Very quick and easy, but not the VERY best beef barley soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe has potential, but I thought it had a little too much liquid and not enough veggies, etc. Also, I would have reduced the barley by half. It kind of overtook everything else in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Had to add a lot to the soup to make it flavorful. Probably won't make this recipe again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
The first thing about this recipe that grabbed my attention was that it is made in a slow cooker. The prep for this is easy and smelled delicious almost instantly, but the taste is SO bland. I have done everything I could to spice it up including fresh garlic, onion powder, extra garlic powder, garlic salt, and finally tomato sauce, but it's still just so-so. I've thrown it out and will NOT make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marty
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Excellent taste, as I did not have enough time to do slow cooker I used the ingredients and prepared the dish in my pressure cooker. The combinations of the ingredients is the true key to the flavor of this dish, fast or slow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
mmm, good! A great soup to make on a cool rainy day. I used 3 10.5oz cans of vegetable broth and added 1 package of Knorr brand Vegetable soup mix but kept everything else the same. I am glad that I used the bigger cans of broth because it was just the perfect consistency; not too thick and not too thin. I did not use pearl barley but homegrown barley from my husband's family. The combo of flavors was just perfect and was not a bit greasy. I used just a tad canola oil when browning the beef. Perfect flavor and seasoning and sooo incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States