Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My husband and I loved this soup. I did however make some minor changes. First, I added one beef soup bone, I find that this always helps add more flavor to any soup. Second I used 2 cups of water, 2 cups of beef broth, and 2 cups of chicken broth to balance the flavors. Also, I added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Last, I only used 1/2 a cup of barley and I added the barley 2hrs. before serving it. The first time I made this soup I added the barley in the beginning the barley ended up mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
608 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I add a couple of bay leaves and 1 each chicken and beef bouillion cubes to balances the flavor of the canned beef broth. I also leave out the green onions, but thats just because I don't like onions of any sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was pretty good, and very easy to put together. But it seemed to be missing something. Am going to play with seasongs a bit. But even so I would make it again as it is a great healthy and filling meal on a chilly winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used chopped white onion, instead of the green onion. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Great way to used leftover pot roast, steak, etc.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I cooked this on the stovetop & I used leftover, cubed t-bone steaks (cooked to MED) so I just gave my veggies a quick saute & then added the beef, broths & spices. I only had about 3/4 cup of beef broth & another cup of chicken so I combined those & added enough vegetable broth ( a very rich homemade broth) to make up the difference & then used another 2 cups or so instead of water. I added minced garlic, a couple of bay leaves, worcestershire & about a tbp of beef base. I also cut the barley back to a little more than half. Wonderful soup that was full of flavor....thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was pretty good with some modifications. I reduced the water by 3 cups, because I wanted a more stew like consistancy. Used fresh garlic instead of powder, as that is what I had on hand. Omitted the cererly, (didn't have any) Also added a can of corn and fennel seeds per other reviewers suggestions. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
How lovely to come home from work to a house redolent of this soup cooking all day and even better eating it with a piece of hearty whole grain sour dough bread! It's a winner for ease of preparation and flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I followed this recipe to a T and it's very good! The only suggestions I have are that I would use at least 2lbs. of beef. And don't buy "stew meat" - use a sirloin or roast and cube it. The meat is so tender and just melts in your mouth. I also added a few more carrots. I wouldn't call it bland, but it could use a few more spices, maybe just a bit more garlic & pepper. Everybody loves it, it's good for you and it's perfect for the fall & winter. YUUUUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Very quick and easy, but not the VERY best beef barley soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe has potential, but I thought it had a little too much liquid and not enough veggies, etc. Also, I would have reduced the barley by half. It kind of overtook everything else in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States