Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Bummer. I have read LOTS of reviews from LOTS of recipes on this site that have complained about blandness and have never had a problem - even when I've had to add just a bit more salt and pepper than called for - but this time, the reviewers were right. I added extra salt, extra pepper, garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, a bit of A1, tomato paste, blackstrap molasses, sage, and finally Adobo (a salt and pepper combo that's popular in Cuban kitchens) and still, to quote another reviewer: there was no "wow" in my mouth. In fact all of those things barely made a dent! I did follow one reviewer's advice and looked up the Beef Barley Stew recipe on here and added about 2 T balsamic vinegar and it kind of helped, but not really, and it was honestly a last ditch effort. It's very pretty, but pretty just isn't gonna cut it this time. I appreciate the recipe, but next time I'll be looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very hearty soup and can be eaten as a meal. I added some parsnip and more broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This soup is ok. A little bland. I left out the scallions and used 1 chopped yellow onion instead. The meat was very tender and this makes a LARGE batch of soup. I just felt like it was missing something. Next time I make this, and I will make it again because it has potential, I will use fresh herbs (thyme and parsley) and some mushrooms. I also may use chicken broth instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Wow this was great. I wanted something a little bit thicker so I used the Beef Barley STEW recipe PLUS the Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup recipe together. It turned into a really thick soup. I used 8 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water. One of the boxes of beef broth was a fancy one made from sirloin steak and was labeled BOLD. I added 1 TBSP of balsamic vinegar and a 1/2 Cup of White Wine. Cooked it for 8 hours on low. DELISH !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
WARNING! The recipe calls for adding the barley at the beginning. Do not add until about 30 minutes before the soup should be done. I followed the recipe and the barley was mushy and pretty gross by the time 6 hours in the slow cooker had passed. As far as flavor goes, I thought it was OK but my family refused to eat it and ended up eating sandwiches instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This soup is so easy to make and enjoyable to serve. I put the leftovers in the freezer but found myself defrosting them the next day when my husband was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good but bland. Would use this recipe again but spice it up a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very disappointing. Really bland even though it smelled great while cooking. I even added a bay leaf and some italian seasoning out of desperation. I used stew meat, maybe I needed something fattier.....definitely not worth the time and effort if you like savory flavors in your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Good for an quick weeknight meal. Pat thinks it needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Good Recipe! Made at last minute on stove and family really liked it. Changes I made were used vegetable broth and mushroom broth in place of 6 cups of water. Added a dash of worchester sauce, A&1, and kitchen boquet. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States