Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Bummer. I have read LOTS of reviews from LOTS of recipes on this site that have complained about blandness and have never had a problem - even when I've had to add just a bit more salt and pepper than called for - but this time, the reviewers were right. I added extra salt, extra pepper, garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, a bit of A1, tomato paste, blackstrap molasses, sage, and finally Adobo (a salt and pepper combo that's popular in Cuban kitchens) and still, to quote another reviewer: there was no "wow" in my mouth. In fact all of those things barely made a dent! I did follow one reviewer's advice and looked up the Beef Barley Stew recipe on here and added about 2 T balsamic vinegar and it kind of helped, but not really, and it was honestly a last ditch effort. It's very pretty, but pretty just isn't gonna cut it this time. I appreciate the recipe, but next time I'll be looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very hearty soup and can be eaten as a meal. I added some parsnip and more broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This soup is ok. A little bland. I left out the scallions and used 1 chopped yellow onion instead. The meat was very tender and this makes a LARGE batch of soup. I just felt like it was missing something. Next time I make this, and I will make it again because it has potential, I will use fresh herbs (thyme and parsley) and some mushrooms. I also may use chicken broth instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Wow this was great. I wanted something a little bit thicker so I used the Beef Barley STEW recipe PLUS the Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup recipe together. It turned into a really thick soup. I used 8 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water. One of the boxes of beef broth was a fancy one made from sirloin steak and was labeled BOLD. I added 1 TBSP of balsamic vinegar and a 1/2 Cup of White Wine. Cooked it for 8 hours on low. DELISH !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
WARNING! The recipe calls for adding the barley at the beginning. Do not add until about 30 minutes before the soup should be done. I followed the recipe and the barley was mushy and pretty gross by the time 6 hours in the slow cooker had passed. As far as flavor goes, I thought it was OK but my family refused to eat it and ended up eating sandwiches instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This soup is so easy to make and enjoyable to serve. I put the leftovers in the freezer but found myself defrosting them the next day when my husband was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good but bland. Would use this recipe again but spice it up a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very disappointing. Really bland even though it smelled great while cooking. I even added a bay leaf and some italian seasoning out of desperation. I used stew meat, maybe I needed something fattier.....definitely not worth the time and effort if you like savory flavors in your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Good for an quick weeknight meal. Pat thinks it needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Good Recipe! Made at last minute on stove and family really liked it. Changes I made were used vegetable broth and mushroom broth in place of 6 cups of water. Added a dash of worchester sauce, A&1, and kitchen boquet. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States